Accueil » Histoire de la WSPUS

Histoire de la WSPUS

La version insigne du logo WSPUS.

La plupart des fondateurs du WSPUS étaient des ouvriers d'usines automobiles et des membres du Socialist Party of America (SPA). D'autres étaient des membres du Parti socialiste du Canada (SPC) ou du Parti socialiste de Grande-Bretagne (SPGB) qui avaient quitté leur comté pour éviter la conscription pour la Première Guerre mondiale. Encouragés par la croissance rapide du SPC et dégoûtés par ce qu'ils ressentaient comme un réformisme croissant au sein de la SPA, ils quittèrent en masse la section locale de Detroit de la SPA et formèrent le WSPUS le 7 juillet 1916 avec 42 membres.

Le nom fondateur du WSPUS était le Parti socialiste des États-Unis. Menacé d'un procès en marque déposée par le SPA, le parti s'est rebaptisé Workers' Socialist Party of the US. En 1947, le nom du parti a de nouveau été changé en l'actuel Parti socialiste mondial.

Le WSPUS a participé aux cercles socialistes de gauche de l'époque, en particulier avec les socialistes du Michigan expulsés du SPA en 1918 qui ont d'abord aidé à former le Parti communiste d'Amérique (CPA) et plus tard le Parti prolétarien d'Amérique. Des groupes ont été formés à New York, Cleveland, Portland et San Francisco. Le groupe "prolétarien" et le WSPUS se sont séparés sur le soutien à l'Union soviétique. Le WSPUS a applaudi le retrait des bolcheviks de la première guerre mondiale, mais a estimé que la nouvelle URSS ne pouvait être que capitaliste d'État et ne devait donc pas être soutenue. Les prolétaires considéraient l'URSS comme un État ouvrier qu'il fallait défendre.

Le WSPUS a reçu une page régulière dans le Socialist Clarion, l'hebdomadaire du SPC, qui était largement lu dans les cercles socialistes de gauche américains.

Au cours des années 1920, le WSP opérait sous le titre Socialist Educational Society (SES) adopté lors de la répression de l'ère Palmer contre les révolutionnaires. Il y avait 3 locaux dans la période SES, à Boston, Detroit et New York. La section locale de NYC était la plus active et les événements incluaient souvent Louis Boudin comme conférencier invité. Le SES est redevenu le WSPUS en 1927 et a commencé à publier son propre magazine "The Socialist".

L'apogée du WSP dans les années 1930 et 1940, alors qu'il comptait peut-être 150 membres. Pendant ce temps, les membres du WSP étaient très actifs dans le mouvement ouvrier, en particulier le syndicat United Auto Workers qu'un certain nombre de membres du WSPUS ont aidé à former. Les membres du WSPUS étaient également actifs au sein de l'International Ladies Garment Workers Union et des syndicats de typographes de la Nouvelle-Angleterre.

En 1939, la publication du magazine « Western Socialist » du Parti socialiste du Canada est transférée à Boston en raison de son interdiction au Canada pour sa politique anti-guerre. The Western Socialist est devenu une publication conjointe jusqu'au milieu des années 1970. Il a cessé de paraître en 1980.

WSPUS a diminué pendant la période Red Scare des années 1950. Il n'a pas pu capitaliser sur la recrudescence des années 1960 et est devenu moribond après la fin de la publication de "The Western Socialist".

Le WSPUS a rajeuni au milieu des années 1990 grâce à Internet. Depuis septembre 2008, il compte des membres dispersés à travers les États-Unis avec des sections locales à Boston et à Portland. Un groupe régional existe dans la région de Detroit-Toledo.

Inscrivez-vous
Notifier de
invité
Ce site utilise le plugin de vérification de l'utilisateur pour réduire le spam. Voir comment vos données de commentaires sont traitées.
2 Commentaires
Le plus ancien
Date Les plus votés
Commentaires en ligne
Voir tous les commentaires

More
About

About

A worldwide system of society based on common ownership and democratic control of the means for producing and distributing wealth by and in the interest of the whole human community.
About

Recent Posts

Newsletter

History of the WSPUS

Most of the founders of the WSPUS were auto factory workers and members of the Socialist Party of America (SPA). Others were members of the Socialist Party of Canada (SPC) or Socialist Party of Great Britain (SPGB) who had left their counties to avoid conscription for World War One. Encouraged by the rapid growth of the SPC and disgusted with what they felt was a growing reformism in the SPA, they left the Detroit Local of the SPA en masse and formed the WSPUS on July 7, 1916 with 42 members.

The founding name of the WSPUS was the Socialist Party of the United States. Threatened by a trademark suit by the SPA, the party renamed itself the Workers’ Socialist Party of the US. In 1947 the party’s name was again changed to the present World Socialist Party.

The WSPUS participated in the left-socialist circles of the time, especially with the Michigan Socialists expelled from the SPA in 1918 who first helped form the Communist Party of America (CPA) and later formed the Proletarian Party of America. Groups were formed in New York City, Cleveland, Portland and San Francisco. The “proletarian” group and the WSPUS split apart over support for the Soviet Union. The WSPUS applauded the Bolshevik’s withdraw from the first World War, but felt that the new USSR could only be state-capitalist and hence should not be supported. The Proletarians regarded the USSR as a workers’ state which needed defending.

The WSPUS was given a regular page in the Socialist Clarion, the weekly paper of the SPC, which was widely read in American left-Socialist circles.

During the 1920s, the WSP operated under the title Socialist Educational Society (SES) adopted during the Palmer era repression against revolutionaries. There were 3 locals in the SES period, in Boston, Detroit and New York. The NYC local was the most active and events often included Louis Boudin as guest lecturer. The SES came out as the WSPUS again in 1927 and started publishing their own magazine “The Socialist”.

The heyday of the WSP 1930 and 1940s when it had perhaps 150 members. During that time WSP members were quite active in the workers’ movement, especially the United Auto Workers union which a number of WSPUS members helped form. WSPUS members were also active in the International Ladies Garment Workers Union, and the Typographers unions in New England.

In 1939, publishing of the Socialist Party of Canada’s “Western Socialist” magazine was transfered to Boston due to it’s ban in Canada for it’s anti-war politics. The Western Socialist became a joint publication until the mid-1970s. It ceased publication in 1980.

WSPUS diminished during the Red Scare period of the 1950s. It was unable to capitalize on the upsurge during the 1960s and became moribund following the ending of publication of “The Western Socialist”.

The WSPUS rejuvenated in the mid-1990s thanks to the internet. As of Sept. 2008 it has members scattered throughout the US with Locals in Boston and Portland. A Regional Group exists in the Detroit-Toledo area.

2 Comments
  1. Robert Norton Cable says:

    Karla Rab’s 2010 book, “Role-Modeling Socialist Behavior,” brings me to this website. Best wishes with re-constructing this website. (By the way, you want to request that readers “bear” with you, rather than “bare” with you–unless you mean, “let it all hang out.” 🙂 I look forward to reading the rest of this website, as I look forward to reading the rest of Karla Rab’s book (the correspondence section).

  2. Robert Howes says:

    There are other movements afoot, that are similar in aims to socialism. The internet is full of them. What is needed is some form of unity.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Refund Policy | Sitemap