للمزيد
معلومات عنا

معلومات عنا

نظام مجتمع عالمي قائم على الملكية المشتركة والسيطرة الديمقراطية على وسائل إنتاج الثروة وتوزيعها من قبل المجتمع البشري بأكمله ولصالحه.
معلومات عنا

آخر المقالات

اشترك الآن

المجلس الشيوعي

By ستيفن شينفيلد 1 فبراير 2016 الساعة 4:41 مساءً بتوقيت المحيط الهادي لا توجد تعليقات لا تقرأ أبدًا
٪ 22 بول ماتيك٪ 22٪ 22 غاري روث٪ 22

مراجعة الكتاب من إصدار فبراير 2016 من المعيار الاشتراكي

'الماركسية في قرن ضائع: سيرة بول ماتيكبقلم غاري روث. شيكاغو. كتب هايماركت ، 2015

ستكون هذه السيرة الذاتية ذات أهمية خاصة للعديد من قراء مجلة المعيار الاشتراكي. في حين أن بول ماتيك (1904-1981) لم ينضم أبدًا إلى الحركة الاشتراكية العالمية (WSM) ، فإن آرائه كانت قريبة بما يكفي لآرائنا حتى يكون مساهمًا رئيسيًا في المقالات ومراجعات الكتب في اشتراكي غربي، مجلة الحزب الاشتراكي العالمي للولايات المتحدة ، من أواخر الأربعينيات إلى أواخر الخمسينيات.

امتدت حياة ماتيك إلى العصور والقارات. شارك في شبابه في الاضطرابات الشعبية في ألمانيا التي أعقبت الحرب العالمية الأولى كناشط في الحركة التي عُرفت باسم "شيوعية المجلس" (Rätekommunismus). في عام 1926 انتقل إلى الولايات المتحدة واستقر في شيكاغو ، حيث كانت مشاركته الرئيسية مع حركة العاطلين عن العمل التي تطورت في أوائل الثلاثينيات. كان كاتبًا غزير الإنتاج في العديد من الأنواع - الصحافة والخيال وكتابة الرحلات بالإضافة إلى النقد الاجتماعي والاقتصاد السياسي.

من المناسب النظر في الكتاب في ثلاثة أجزاء. تصف الفصول 2-4 حياة ونشاط الشاب ماتيك في ألمانيا. تركز الفصول من الخامس إلى التاسع على نشاطه في الولايات المتحدة في أواخر عشرينيات وثلاثينيات القرن الماضي. الموضوع الرئيسي للفصول المتبقية هو جهود ماتيك الدؤوبة لتطوير ونشر أفكاره.

نشأ بول ماتيك في ظل ظروف قاسية في أسرة فقيرة من عامل غير ماهر ، أولاً في ريف بروسيا الشرقية (الآن في بولندا) ثم في برلين. ترك المدرسة في سن الرابعة عشرة ليصبح صانع أدوات متدربًا في مجال اهتمام شركة سيمنز. في نفس الوقت تقريبًا أصبح ناشطًا سياسيًا - أولاً في الشباب الاشتراكي الحر ، مجموعة الشباب المرتبطة بالحزب الاشتراكي الديمقراطي ، ولاحقًا في حزب العمال الشيوعي الألماني (الاختصار الألماني - KAPD) ، وهو انفصال عن `` الشيوعيين اليساريين ''. من الحزب الشيوعي الألماني (KPD).

يقدم الفصلان 3 و 4 وصفاً قيماً لتكوين وتطور وانحطاط KAPD. عارض حزب KAPD والمجموعات الشيوعية ذات التفكير المماثل في البلدان الأوروبية الأخرى كلا من النموذج الديمقراطي الاجتماعي الكلاسيكي للحزب البرلماني والنموذج اللينيني للحزب الطليعي ("الثورة ليست مهمة حزبية"). كما يشير اسمهم ، فقد تصوروا المجالس العمالية على أنها الأداة التنظيمية للعمل الثوري.

على عكس KPD ، الذي سرعان ما أصبح يعتمد مالياً وسياسياً على النظام البلشفي ، حافظ KAPD على نظرة مستقلة وطور تحليلاً لنظام رأسمالية الدولة الجديد الناشئ في روسيا.

خلال السنوات القليلة الأولى بعد هجرته ، كان ماتيك منشغلاً بالمشاكل العملية للتكيف مع الحياة في بلد جديد. وجد منزلاً سياسيًا مؤقتًا في النقابيين النقابيين الصناعيين في العالم (IWW أو "Wobblies").

من عام 1932 فصاعدًا ، لعب ماتيك دورًا بارزًا في الجهود المبذولة لتنظيم العاطلين عن العمل في شيكاغو ، والذين كانوا يمثلون 40 في المائة من القوة العاملة في المدينة في ذروة الكساد الكبير. لقد عمل من خلال رابطة العمال ، وهي منظمة عاطلة عن العمل تابعة للحزب البروليتاري - وهي مجموعة (مثل WSPUS) كانت أصولها في الحزب الاشتراكي في ميشيغان. قام ماتيك وزملاؤه - وهي كلمة فضلها على "الرفاق" - بتأسيس عملهم التنظيمي في شبكة من واجهات المحلات المهجورة التي سيطر عليها العمال العاطلون عن العمل واستخدموها كـ "محطات إغاثة" محلية (بها مطابخ وأماكن للنوم) وأماكن اجتماعات ومطابع .

نجح ماتيك أيضًا في إنشاء مجموعة صغيرة إلى حد ما ولكنها نشطة من شيوعيين المجالس تحت اسم حزب العمال المتحد ، مع مجلة بعنوان مراسلات المجلس الدولي.

يخصص المؤلف مساحة كبيرة للجهود التي بذلها ماتيك على مدى سنوات عديدة لإثارة اهتمام المحررين والناشرين اليساريين في كتاباته. مع استثناءات قليلة ، مثل الاشتراكية الغربية ، أدى تأثير اللينينية داخل اليسار إلى جعل هذه الجهود غير مثمرة حتى جاء اليسار الجديد لإنقاذه في أواخر الستينيات. بدأت الحركة الطلابية في ألمانيا الغربية على وجه الخصوص في إظهار اهتمامها بماتيك كحلقة وصل حية بالماضي "الثوري" للبلاد.

كان ماتيك على اتصال في أوقات مختلفة بالعديد من العلماء اليساريين الذين كان يأمل أن يساعدوه في الحصول على التقدير العام ونشر أعماله. يقدم المؤلف تفاصيل كبيرة حول هذه التفاعلات. ومع ذلك ، فمن المخيب للآمال أنه لسبب ما يتجاهل علاقات ماتيك الوثيقة مع WSPUS وأعضائها خلال الفترة التي كان يعيش فيها هو وعائلته في بوسطن.

هناك أيضًا بعض المعلومات المتناثرة حول محتوى كتابات ماتيك - ليس بالقدر الذي قد يرغب فيه القارئ ولكن بقدر ما يمكن توقعه بشكل معقول في السيرة الذاتية. يتم إيلاء اهتمام خاص لإسهامات ماتيك الرئيسية في الاقتصاد السياسي الماركسي. أكثر ما اشتهر هو نقده للاقتصاد الكينزي ، والذي ظهر أخيرًا في شكل كتاب عام 1969 تحت عنوان ماركس وكينز: حدود الاقتصاد المختلط. أظهر ماتيك أن التدخل الحكومي يمكن أن يعدل طريقة عمل الرأسمالية بشكل مؤقت فقط وضمن حدود معينة.

كان لماتيك أيضًا اهتمامًا مستمرًا بنظرية دورة الأعمال والأزمة الرأسمالية. هنا تأثر بشكل كبير بهنريك غروسمان ، الذي عمل قانون تراكم وانهيار النظام الرأسمالي ظهر قبل انهيار سوق الأسهم عام 1929 مباشرة. اعتمد تحليل غروسمان بشكل كبير على المخطط في نهاية المجلد الثاني من كتاب ماركس. كابيتال والقسم الأول من المجلد الثالث ، وشدد على الدور الحاسم الذي يلعبه ميل معدل الربح إلى الانخفاض ، فضلاً عن القيود المفروضة على كتلة الربح المتزايدة باستمرار. بعد جروسمان ، اعتقد ماتيك أن الأزمة الرأسمالية لا تؤدي تلقائيًا إلى ثورة اشتراكية ولكنها تخلق "وضعًا ثوريًا موضوعيًا". ومع ذلك ، كان لدى غروسمان - وهو عضو في الحزب الشيوعي البولندي - مفاهيم للثورة ومجتمع ما بعد الثورة مختلفة تمامًا عن مفاهيم ماتيك.

إلى جانب محتواها السياسي والنظري ، تعتبر سيرة روث لماتيك ذات أهمية إنسانية كبيرة. يخبرنا الكثير عما كانت عليه الحياة في أوقات مختلفة للعمال في كل من ألمانيا والولايات المتحدة. الكتاب يستحق القراءة لذلك وحده.

ستيفان.

كتب بواسطة

نشأت في موسويل هيل ، شمال لندن ، وانضممت إلى الحزب الاشتراكي لبريطانيا العظمى في سن السادسة عشرة. بعد دراسة الرياضيات والإحصاء ، عملت كخبير إحصائي حكومي في السبعينيات قبل الالتحاق بالدراسات السوفيتية في جامعة برمنغهام. كنت ناشطا في حركة نزع السلاح النووي. في عام 16 ، انتقلت مع عائلتي إلى بروفيدنس ، رود آيلاند ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية لشغل منصب في كلية جامعة براون ، حيث قمت بتدريس العلاقات الدولية. بعد ترك براون في عام 1970 ، عملت بشكل أساسي كمترجم من اللغة الروسية. عدت للانضمام إلى الحركة الاشتراكية العالمية عام 1989 وأعمل حاليًا الأمين العام للحزب الاشتراكي العالمي للولايات المتحدة. لقد كتبت كتابين: المأزق النووي: الاستكشافات في الأيديولوجيا السوفيتية (روتليدج ، 2000) والفاشية الروسية: التقاليد والميول والحركات (ME Sharpe ، 2005) والمزيد من المقالات والأوراق وفصول الكتب التي يهمني تذكرها.

عرض جميع المقالات
S
الصفحة السابقة

الاشتراكية كبديل عملي

W
اترك تعليق

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول المشار إليها إلزامية *

يستخدم هذا الموقع المكون الإضافي للتحقق من المستخدم لتقليل البريد العشوائي. انظر كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

الأحكام والشروط | سياسة الخصوصية | سياسة ملفات تعريف الارتباط | سياسة الاسترجاع | خريطة الموقع

More
About

About

A worldwide system of society based on common ownership and democratic control of the means for producing and distributing wealth by and in the interest of the whole human community.
About

Recent Posts

Newsletter

Council Communist

By Stephen Shenfield February 1, 2016 No Comments 5 Min Read
%22paul mattick%22 %22gary roth%22

Book Review from the February 2016 issue of the Socialist Standard

Marxism in a Lost Century: A Biography of Paul Mattick‘, by Gary Roth. Chicago. Haymarket Books, 2015

This biography will be of special interest to many readers of the Socialist Standard. While Paul Mattick (1904–1981) never joined the World Socialist Movement (WSM), his views were sufficiently close to ours for him to be a major contributor of articles and book reviews to the Western Socialist, journal of the World Socialist Party of the US, from the late 1940s to the late 1950s.

Mattick’s life spanned eras and continents. In his youth he participated in the grassroots upheavals in Germany that followed in the wake of World War One as an activist in the movement that came to be known as ‘council communism’ (Rätekommunismus). In 1926 he moved to the United States and settled in Chicago, where his main involvement was with the unemployed movement that developed in the early 1930s. He was a prolific writer in several genres – journalism, fiction, and travel writing as well as social criticism and political economy.

It is convenient to consider the book in three parts. Chapters 2–4 portray the life and activity of the young Mattick in Germany. Chapters 5–9 focus on his activism in the US in the late 1920s and the 1930s. The main theme of the remaining chapters is Mattick’s tireless efforts to develop and disseminate his ideas.

Paul Mattick grew up under harsh conditions in the poor family of an unskilled worker, first in rural East Prussia (now in Poland) and then in Berlin. He left school at the age of 14 to become an apprentice toolmaker in the Siemens concern. At about the same time he became politically active – first in the Free Socialist Youth, the youth group attached to the Social Democratic Party, and later in the Communist Workers’ Party of Germany (German abbreviation – KAPD), a ‘left communist’ breakaway from the Communist Party of Germany (KPD).

Chapters 3 and 4 provide a valuable account of the formation, evolution, and decline of the KAPD. The KAPD and like-minded council communist groups in other European countries opposed both the classical social-democratic model of the parliamentary party and the Leninist model of the vanguard party (‘the revolution is no party matter’). As their name indicates, they envisioned workers’ councils as the organisational vehicle of revolutionary action.

In contrast to the KPD, which quickly came to depend financially and politically on the Bolshevik regime, the KAPD maintained an independent outlook and developed an analysis of the new state-capitalist system emerging in Russia.

During the first few years after his emigration Mattick was preoccupied with the practical problems of adapting to life in a new country. He found a provisional political home in the syndicalist Industrial Workers of the World (IWW or ‘Wobblies’).

From 1932 onward Mattick played a prominent role in the effort to organise the unemployed in Chicago, who at the height of the Great Depression accounted for 40 percent of the city’s workforce. He worked through the Workers’ League, an unemployed affiliate of the Proletarian Party – a group that (like the WSPUS) had its origins in the Socialist Party of Michigan. Mattick and his colleagues – a word he preferred to ‘comrades’ – based their organising work in the network of abandoned storefronts that unemployed workers took over and used as local ‘relief stations’ (with kitchens and sleeping quarters), meeting places and print shops.

Mattick also succeeded in creating a fairly small but active group of council communists under the name of the United Workers’ Party, with a journal entitled International Council Correspondence.

The author devotes a great deal of space to the efforts made by Mattick over many years to interest left-wing editors and publishers in his writings. With few exceptions, such as the Western Socialist, the influence of Leninism within the left made these efforts fruitless until the New Left finally came to his rescue in the late 1960s. The West German student movement in particular began to show an interest in Mattick as a living link with the country’s ‘revolutionary’ past.

Mattick was in touch at various times with numerous left-wing scholars who he hoped would help him gain public recognition and get his work published. The author provides considerable detail about these interactions. However, it is disappointing that for some reason he ignores Mattick’s close relations with the WSPUS and its members during the period when he and his family were living in Boston.

There is also some scattered information about the content of Mattick’s writing – not as much as the reader might wish but as much as can reasonably be expected in a biography. Special attention is rightly paid to Mattick’s main contributions to Marxian political economy. Best known is his critique of Keynesian economics, which finally appeared in book form in 1969 under the title Marx and Keynes: The Limits of the Mixed Economy. Mattick showed that government intervention could modify the workings of capitalism only temporarily and within definite limits.

Mattick also had a persistent interest in the theory of the business cycle and capitalist crisis. Here he was greatly influenced by Henryk Grossman, whose work The Law of Accumulation and Breakdown of the Capitalist System happened to come out just before the stock market crash of 1929. Grossman’s analysis relied heavily on the schema at the end of the second volume of Marx’s Capital and the first section of the third volume, and stressed the crucial role played by the tendency of the rate of profit to fall, as well as constraints on an ever-rising mass of profit. Following Grossman, Mattick believed that capitalist crisis does not automatically lead to socialist revolution but does create an ‘objectively revolutionary situation.’ However, Grossman – a member of the Communist Party of Poland – had concepts of revolution and the post-revolutionary society very different from those of Mattick.

Besides its political and theoretical content, Roth’s biography of Mattick is of great human interest. It tells us a lot about what life was like at various times for working people in both Germany and the United States. The book is worth reading for that alone.

Stefan.

Written By

I grew up in Muswell Hill, north London, and joined the Socialist Party of Great Britain at age 16. After studying mathematics and statistics, I worked as a government statistician in the 1970s before entering Soviet Studies at the University of Birmingham. I was active in the nuclear disarmament movement. In 1989 I moved with my family to Providence, Rhode Island, USA to take up a position on the faculty of Brown University, where I taught International Relations. After leaving Brown in 2000, I worked mainly as a translator from Russian. I rejoined the World Socialist Movement about 2005 and am currently general secretary of the World Socialist Party of the United States. I have written two books: The Nuclear Predicament: Explorations in Soviet Ideology (Routledge, 1987) and Russian Fascism: Traditions, Tendencies, Movements (M.E. Sharpe, 2001) and more articles, papers, and book chapters that I care to recall.

View All Articles
S
W
Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Refund Policy | Sitemap