Startseite » Blog » Starbucks organisiert sich gewerkschaftlich

Arbeiterbewegung, Arbeiten

Starbucks organisiert sich gewerkschaftlich

Aufrufe: 779 Die Zahl der gewerkschaftlich organisierten Starbucks-Standorte wächst weiter. Die Kampagne der Starbucks Workers United bringt Woche für Woche weiterhin erstaunliche Wahlsiege hervor. 260 Geschäfte haben eine Petition eingereicht …

by Weltsozialistische Partei USA

Veröffentlicht am:

Aktualisiert:

1 min gelesen

Die Zahl der gewerkschaftlich organisierten Starbucks-Standorte wächst weiter. Die Gewerkschaftskampagne von Starbucks Workers United erzielt Woche für Woche erstaunliche Wahlsiege.  260 Geschäfte haben eine Petition für die Wahlen zum National Labour Relations Board (NLRB) eingereicht. Die Gewerkschaft hat 77 NLRB-Wahlen (87 %) gewonnen, die meisten mit überwältigendem Vorsprung, selbst an Orten, an denen Gewerkschaftssiege selten sind, wie in Mesa, Arizona; Boone, North Carolina; Jacksonville, Florida; Knoxville, Tennessee; Augusta, Georgia; und Overland Park, Kansas. Es hat nur neun Wahlen verloren. 

Nach Zählung der Gewerkschaft gibt es jetzt 100 Geschäfte im ganzen Land, die sich gewerkschaftlich organisiert haben. Dieser Meilenstein wurde nach erfolgreichen Abstimmungen in zwei Geschäften in Seattle, dem Geburtsort von Starbucks, erreicht.

Starbuck-Arbeiter in Greenville, South Carolina, einst bekannt als „zu den am unerbittlichsten gewerkschaftsfeindlichen Städten der Nation“ stimmte mit acht zu eins dafür, das erste gewerkschaftlich organisierte Geschäft im Bundesstaat zu werden. In den letzten zwei Jahren war South Carolina der am wenigsten gewerkschaftlich organisierte Staat des Landes und der gewerkschaftliche Organisationsgrad lag 2021 bei nur 1.7 %. Greenville ist noch gewerkschaftsfeindlicher als der Rest von South Carolina. In der Metropolregion gibt es nur sieben Arbeitgeber mit gewerkschaftlich organisierten Arbeitnehmern. Lokale Arbeitgeber prahlen damit. „Im Jahr 2021 betrug die gewerkschaftliche Organisierungsrate im Privatsektor in der Region Greenville nur 0.3 %. Die statistische Metropolregion Greenville ist die am wenigsten gewerkschaftlich organisierte statistische Metropolregion in den Vereinigten Staaten … In den letzten zehn Jahren wurden keine Arbeitsniederlegungen gemeldet.“

Foto des Autors
Stehend für Sozialismus und nichts als.

Ähnliche Artikel

Abonnieren
Benachrichtigung von
Gast
Diese Website verwendet das Plugin zur Benutzerüberprüfung, um Spam zu reduzieren. Sehen Sie, wie Ihre Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.
0 Ihre Nachricht
Inline-Feedbacks
Alle Kommentare anzeigen

Home » Blog » Starbucks Unionizes

Labor movement, Work

Starbucks Unionizes

Views: 741 The tally of unionized Starbucks locations is continuing to grow.  The Starbucks Workers United union campaign continues to produce astounding election wins week after week.  260 stores have petitioned …

by World Socialist Party US

Published:

Updated:

1 min read

The tally of unionized Starbucks locations is continuing to grow.  The Starbucks Workers United union campaign continues to produce astounding election wins week after week.  260 stores have petitioned for National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) elections. The union has won 77 NLRB elections (87%), most by overwhelming margins, even in places where union victories are rare, such as Mesa, Arizona; Boone, North Carolina; Jacksonville, Florida; Knoxville, Tennessee; Augusta, Georgia; and Overland Park, Kansas. It has lost only nine elections. 

By the union’s count, there are now 100 stores across the nation that have unionized. That milestone was reached after successful votes at two stores in Seattle, the birthplace of Starbucks.

Starbuck workers in Greenville, South Carolina, once known as being “among the most relentlessly anti-union cities in the nation,” voted eight to one to become the first unionized store in the state. For the past two years South Carolina has been the least unionized state in the country, and union density in 2021 was just 1.7%. Greenville is even more anti-union than the rest of South Carolina. The metropolitan area has only seven employers with any union workers. Local employers brag about it. “In 2021, the private sector unionization rate for the Greenville area was only 0.3%. The Greenville Metropolitan Statistical Area is the least unionized Metropolitan Statistical Area in the United States… There have been no reported work stoppages reported in the past ten years.”

Photo of author
Standing for socialism and nothing but.

Related Articles

Class, Work

‘Class Struggle’: B.S. Or What?

Views: 630 By David Zink Like most survivors of our (mis)education system, you’ve probably been taught that in American and Canadian society the concept of ‘class’ is ...

6 min read

Capitalism, Labor movement, Politics

We Are Against Reformism Not Reforms

Views: 1,087 The companion parties of the World Socialist Movement do not advocate reforms. As the heading says on the home page of this website, the World Socialist ...

4 min read

Capitalism, Class, Economics, Work

The Insanity of Coal Mining

Views: 682 National Public Radio (NPR) and the Centre for Public Integrity (CPI) teamed up to produce a special investigative report on the increased incidence of black ...

5 min read

Labor movement, Work

Dying From Overwork

Many workers are forced to work such long hours that they die from stroke or heart disease.

1 min read
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
This site uses User Verification plugin to reduce spam. See how your comment data is processed.
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share to...