Startseite » Blog » Maifeiertag: Der endlose Kampf um den Achtstundentag

Kapitalismus, Klasse, Krieg, Arbeiten

Maifeiertag: Der endlose Kampf um den Achtstundentag

Aufrufe: 727 Am 1891. Mai um den Maibaum zu tanzen, ist ein alter Brauch. Doch erst XNUMX wurde der XNUMX. Mai zu einem Anlass für Arbeiterversammlungen …

by Stefan Shenfield

Veröffentlicht am:

Aktualisiert:

3 min gelesen

Walter Crane, Public Domain, über Wikimedia Commons

Das Tanzen um den Maibaum am 1891. Mai ist ein alter Brauch. Erst 4 wurde der 1886. Mai jedoch zu einem Anlass für Arbeiterdemonstrationen. Das Datum wurde gewählt, um an ein Polizeimassaker während einer Kundgebung am Haymarket Square in Chicago am XNUMX. Mai XNUMX zu erinnern. Die Kundgebung unterstützte einen Streik für einen Achtstundentag, und der Achtstundentag wurde einer von beiden Hauptforderungen, die bei den Demonstrationen am XNUMX. Mai erhoben wurden, die andere den Weltfrieden.

Der Kampf um den Weltfrieden begann vielversprechend, als sich im August 1904, mitten im Krieg zwischen Japan und Russland, die führenden japanischen und russischen Sozialisten Sen Katayama und Georgi Plechanow auf der Tribüne des Sechsten Kongresses der Zweiten Internationale die Hand reichten Amsterdam. Aber nur zehn Jahre später, im Jahr 1914, arbeiteten die wichtigsten europäischen sozialistischen Parteien mit „ihren“ Regierungen zusammen, um die Hunde des Krieges loszulassen. Das Brudermord-Gemetzel, das als Erster Weltkrieg und dann als Erster Weltkrieg bekannt wurde.

Der Kampf um den Weltfrieden ist ein allzu deprimierendes Thema. Ein Artikel zur Feier des XNUMX. Mai sollte einen optimistischen Ton haben. Konzentrieren wir uns auf die Nachfrage für den Acht-Stunden-Tag.

Dunkle satanische Mühlen

Es scheint, dass die Forderung nach einem Achtstundentag erstmals 1817 vom Pioniersozialisten Robert Owen erhoben wurde. Das war zu einer Zeit, als 14- oder sogar 16-Stunden-Tage sowohl für Erwachsene als auch für kleine Kinder in den Fabriken der industriellen Revolution Großbritanniens auferlegt wurden – „diese dunklen satanischen Mühlen“, wie William Blake sie in seinem Gedicht nannte Jerusalem

Seitdem sind über 200 Jahre vergangen – sicherlich Zeit genug für uns, die Arbeitszeit auf acht Stunden pro Tag zu drücken. Oder noch weiter nach unten. So haben Sie vielleicht gedacht.

Und Arbeiter haben dieses Ziel erreicht. In Europa. Vor allem in Deutschland, wo Arbeiter 1978 einen sechswöchigen landesweiten Streik für eine 35-Stunden-Woche durchführten. Der Streik scheiterte, aber eine 37.5-Stunden-Woche, also ein Siebeneinhalb-Stunden-Tag, wurde zum Standard. Im vergangenen Jahr gewann Deutschlands größte Gewerkschaft, die IG Metall, einen 28 StundenArbeitswoche für 900,000 Beschäftigte in der Metall- und Elektroindustrie. Wie ist es damit?

Nicht in den Vereinigten Staaten

Aber nicht in den Vereinigten Staaten, obwohl Veröffentlichungen der amerikanischen Arbeiterbewegung bereits 1836 einen Achtstundentag forderten. 

Es stimmt, einige Gruppen amerikanischer Arbeiter erreichten schon früh einen Acht-Stunden-Tag. 1868 verabschiedete der Kongress ein Gesetz, das einen Achtstundentag für Arbeiter und Mechaniker einführte, die von der Bundesregierung beschäftigt wurden (gleichzeitig wurden ihre Löhne um 20 % gekürzt). Die 1870er sahen den Aufstieg der Acht-Stunden-Ligen. Ein großer Streik in New York City setzte 1872 den Achtstundentag durch, hauptsächlich für Bauarbeiter. Bis 1905 war der Achtstundentag auch unter Druckereien üblich. 

Aber die meisten amerikanischen Arbeiter arbeiteten immer noch mindestens zwölf Stunden am Tag.

Der Achtstundentag breitete sich während des Ersten Weltkriegs weiter aus, als Arbeitskräfte knapp waren. 1914 verkürzte die Ford Motor Company die Schichten von neun auf acht Stunden, und nach einiger Zeit folgten andere Unternehmen der Automobilindustrie diesem Beispiel. Der Adamson Act von 1916 führte einen Acht-Stunden-Tag für Eisenbahnarbeiter ein.  

Der Fair Labor Standards Act, der 1938 unter dem New Deal von Präsident Franklin Delano Roosevelt erlassen wurde, legte keine maximalen Arbeitstage oder -wochen fest, aber er schuf einen Anreiz für Arbeitgeber, die Arbeitszeit zu begrenzen. Dies geschah durch die Regel, dass Arbeitnehmer, die mehr als 50 Stunden pro Woche arbeiten, mit einem Überstundensatz vergütet werden müssen, der XNUMX % über dem Normalsatz liegt.

Die allmähliche Verbesserung setzte sich in den 1940er Jahren fort. Die Arbeitszeit stabilisierte sich in den 1950er und 1960er Jahren auf einem durchschnittlichen Niveau von etwa 42 Stunden pro Woche. Amerikanische Arbeiter waren damals ziemlich nah am Achtstundentag, aber die meisten haben ihn nie ganz erreicht.

Und das seit den 1970er Jahren Die durchschnittliche Arbeitszeit hat sich wieder erhöht.

Derzeit haben 86 % der männlichen und 67 % der weiblichen Arbeitnehmer einen Arbeitstag von mehr als acht Stunden. Laut dem Bureau of Labor Statistics arbeitet der durchschnittliche Amerikaner 8.8 Stunden am Tag. Eine nationale Gallup-Umfrage aus dem Jahr 2014 ergab, dass die Befragten durchschnittlich 47 Stunden pro Woche arbeiteten, dh 9.4 Stunden am Tag. Viele gaben an, mindestens 50-Stunden-Wochen zu arbeiten, dh 10-Stunden-Tage.  

Zwei Vollzeitstellen

Außerdem sind Überstunden nicht der einzige Faktor, der berücksichtigt werden muss. Mehr als ein Drittel der amerikanischen Arbeiter (37 %) hat einen zweiten Job. Viele arbeiten zwei Vollzeitjobs, das heißt 16 Stunden am Tag – so wie es die Arbeiter Anfang der 19er in Großbritannien tatenthJahrhundert. Es gibt Fortschritte für Sie! 

Das Bild sieht noch schlechter aus, wenn wir unsere Aufmerksamkeit von der einzelnen Arbeitskraft auf die Familie oder den Haushalt lenken. 1960 arbeiteten nur 20 % der Mütter. Heute sind 70 % der amerikanischen Kinder „Schlüsselkinder“, die in Haushalten leben, in denen alle Erwachsenen berufstätig sind. 

Über 200 Jahre, seit Robert Owen sich zum ersten Mal das Ziel eines Acht-Stunden-Tages gesetzt hat, ist es immer noch unerreichbar! Und das trotz der enormen Steigerung der Arbeitsproduktivität! 

Wie gesagt, ein Artikel zur Feier des XNUMX. Mai sollte einen optimistischen Ton haben. Deshalb habe ich mich entschieden, die Aussichten für den Weltfrieden nicht zu diskutieren. Aber ich fürchte, dass ich immer noch nicht die optimistische Note erreicht habe, die ich anstrebte. Wenn ja, entschuldige ich mich aufrichtig. 

Es ist üblich, einen Artikel mit der Erläuterung der zu ziehenden Schlussfolgerungen zu beenden. Stattdessen lade ich Sie ein, zwischen Folgendem zu wählen:

  • Nach Deutschland auswandern
  • Lesen Sie keine weiteren Artikel dieses Autors
  • Arbeit für den Sozialismus
  • Organisiert mehr, größere und bessere Demonstrationen zum XNUMX. Mai
  • Studieren Sie die Erfahrungen der europäischen Gewerkschaften

Stichworte: Geschichte der frühen Arbeiterbewegung, Deutschland, Geschichte des Gewerkschaftswesens, Maifeiertag, Zweite Internationale, Kürzere Arbeitswoche, Stefan Shenfield

Foto des Autors
Ich bin in Muswell Hill im Norden Londons aufgewachsen und trat mit 16 Jahren der Socialist Party of Great Britain bei. Nach meinem Studium der Mathematik und Statistik arbeitete ich in den 1970er Jahren als Regierungsstatistiker, bevor ich an der Universität Birmingham Sowjetwissenschaften studierte. Ich war in der nuklearen Abrüstungsbewegung aktiv. 1989 zog ich mit meiner Familie nach Providence, Rhode Island, USA, um eine Stelle an der Fakultät der Brown University anzunehmen, wo ich Internationale Beziehungen lehrte. Nachdem ich Brown im Jahr 2000 verlassen hatte, arbeitete ich hauptsächlich als Übersetzerin aus dem Russischen. Ich trat der World Socialist Movement etwa 2005 wieder bei und bin derzeit Generalsekretär der World Socialist Party of the United States. Ich habe zwei Bücher geschrieben: The Nuclear Predicament: Explorations in Soviet Ideology (Routledge, 1987) und Russian Fascism: Traditions, Tendencies, Movements (ME Sharpe, 2001) und weitere Artikel, Abhandlungen und Buchkapitel, an die ich mich erinnern möchte.

Ähnliche Artikel

Abonnieren
Benachrichtigung von
Gast
Diese Website verwendet das Plugin zur Benutzerüberprüfung, um Spam zu reduzieren. Sehen Sie, wie Ihre Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.
0 Ihre Nachricht
Inline-Feedbacks
Alle Kommentare anzeigen

Home » Blog » May Day: The Endless Fight for the Eight-hour Day

Capitalism, Class, War, Work

May Day: The Endless Fight for the Eight-hour Day

Views: 677 Dancing round the Maypole on the First of May is an ancient custom. Only in 1891, however, did May Day become an occasion for workers’ …

by Stephen Shenfield

Published:

Updated:

3 min read

Walter Crane, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

Dancing round the Maypole on the First of May is an ancient custom. Only in 1891, however, did May Day become an occasion for workers’ demonstrations. The date was chosen to commemorate a police massacre during a rally at Haymarket Square in Chicago on May 4, 1886. The rally was in support of a strike for an eight-hour working day, and the eight-hour day became one of the two main demands raised in May Day demonstrations, the other being world peace.

The struggle for world peace got off to a promising start when in August 1904, in the middle of war between Japan and Russia, leading Japanese and Russian socialists Sen Katayama and Georgi Plekhanov shook hands on the platform of the Sixth Congress of the Second International in Amsterdam. But a mere ten years later, in 1914, the main European socialist parties collaborated with ‘their’ governments in unleashing the dogs of war. The fratricidal slaughter that came to be known as the Great War and then as World War One.

The struggle for world peace is altogether too depressing a subject. An article in celebration of May Day should have an upbeat tone. Let’s concentrate on the demand for the eight-hour day.

Dark Satanic Mills

It appears that the demand for an eight-hour day was first raised in 1817 by pioneer socialist Robert Owen. This was at a time when 14 or even 16-hour days were imposed on adults and young children alike in the factories of Britain’s industrial revolution – ‘these dark Satanic Mills’ as William Blake called them in his poem Jerusalem

Over 200 years have passed since then – surely time enough for us to push working time down to eight hours a day. Or down even further. So you might have thought.

And workers have achieved that goal. In Europe. Especially in Germany, where in 1978 workers staged a six-week national strike for a 35-hour week. The strike failed, but a 37.5-hour week, i.e., a seven-and-a-half-hour day, did become standard. Last year Germany’s largest trade union, IG Metall, won a 28-hourworking week for 900,000 workers in the metals and electrical industries. How about that?

Not in the United States

But not in the United States, even though American labor movement publications called for an eight-hour day as early as 1836. 

True, some groups of American workers did achieve an eight-hour day quite early on. In 1868 Congress passed a law establishing an eight-hour day for laborers and mechanics employed by the federal government (at the same time their wages were cut by 20%). The 1870s saw the rise of Eight-Hour Leagues. A big strike in New York City won the eight-hour day in 1872, mostly for building workers. By 1905 the eight-hour day was also common among printers. 

But most American workers were still working at least twelve hours a day.

The eight-hour day spread more widely during World War One, when labor was in short supply. In 1914 the Ford Motor Company shortened shifts from nine hours to eight, and after some time other companies in the automobile industry followed suit. The Adamson Act of 1916 established an eight-hour day for railway workers.  

The Fair Labor Standards Act, enacted under the New Deal of President Franklin Delano Roosevelt in 1938, did not establish a maximum working day or week, but it did create an incentive for employers to limit working time. It did this by means of the rule that employees working over forty hours a week must be paid at an overtime rate 50% higher than the standard rate.

Gradual improvement continued in the 1940s. Working time stabilized in the 1950s and 1960s at an average level of about 42 hours a week. American workers were fairly close to the eight-hour day at that time, but most never quite reached it.

And since the 1970s average working time has increased again.

At present 86% of male workers and 67% of female workers have a working day longer than eight hours. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the average American works 8.8 hours a day. A 2014 national Gallup poll found that respondents worked on average 47 hours a week, i.e., 9.4 hours a day. Many reported working at least 50-hour weeks, i.e., 10-hour days.  

Two Full-time Jobs

Moreover, overtime is not the only factor that needs to be taken into account. Over a third of American workers (37%) have second jobs. Many are working two full-time jobs, that is, 16 hours a day – just as workers did in Britain in the early 19thcentury. There’s progress for you! 

The picture looks even worse when we shift our attention from the individual worker to the family or household. In 1960, only 20% of mothers worked. Today 70% of American children are ‘latchkey kids’ who live in households where all the adults are employed. 

Over 200 years since Robert Owen first set the goal of an eight-hour day and it’s still out of reach! And this despite the huge rise that has taken place in the productivity of labor! 

As I said, an article in celebration of May Day should have an upbeat tone. That is why I decided not to discuss the prospects for world peace. But I fear that I have still not achieved the optimistic note that I was aiming at. If so, I sincerely apologize. 

It is customary to end an article by explaining the conclusions to be drawn. Instead I invite you to choose among the following:

  • Emigrate to Germany
  • Do not read any more articles by this author
  • Work for socialism
  • Organize more, bigger, and better May Day demonstrations
  • Study the experience of European trade unions

Tags: Early Labour Movement History, Germany, History of Trade Unionism, May Day, Second International, Shorter Working Week, Stephen Shenfield

Photo of author
I grew up in Muswell Hill, north London, and joined the Socialist Party of Great Britain at age 16. After studying mathematics and statistics, I worked as a government statistician in the 1970s before entering Soviet Studies at the University of Birmingham. I was active in the nuclear disarmament movement. In 1989 I moved with my family to Providence, Rhode Island, USA to take up a position on the faculty of Brown University, where I taught International Relations. After leaving Brown in 2000, I worked mainly as a translator from Russian. I rejoined the World Socialist Movement about 2005 and am currently general secretary of the World Socialist Party of the United States. I have written two books: The Nuclear Predicament: Explorations in Soviet Ideology (Routledge, 1987) and Russian Fascism: Traditions, Tendencies, Movements (M.E. Sharpe, 2001) and more articles, papers, and book chapters that I care to recall.

Related Articles

Capitalism, Class, History, Politics, Socialism

Eugene Debs and the World Socialist Movement

A collection of quotations from the speeches and writings of Eugene Debs (1855—1926). He was a prominent trade union organizer, socialist writer and speaker.

11 min read

Labor movement, News, Work

Strikes and Protests Continue in Kazakhstan

Views: 566 The following report of developments in western Kazakhstan is based on information from the Russian trade union website infoprof.ru. Strikes and protests of working people ...

2 min read

Work

Solidarity With Alabama Amazon Workers

About 6,000, mostly black, Amazon warehouse workers in Bessemer, AL form the AAWU and ask sympathizers to sign a petition against Amazon's union-busting abuses.

1 min read

Capitalism, Class

Contrasts: On Yachts and Tropical Diseases

The resources spent by a billionaire on a single residence or yacht would suffice to eradicate trachoma -- a painful tropical eye disease that leads to blindness.

4 min read
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
This site uses User Verification plugin to reduce spam. See how your comment data is processed.
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share to...