الصفحة الرئيسية » المدونة » كيف يعمل المجمع الصناعي العسكري

اقتصاديات, سياسة, تكنولوجيا, حرب

كيف يعمل المجمع الصناعي العسكري

المشاهدات: 821 أندرو كوكبيرن ، غنائم الحرب: القوة والربح وآلة الحرب الأمريكية. فيرسو ، 2021 في هذا الكتاب ، يعرض كوكبورن الأعمال الداخلية لـ ...

by ستيفن شينفيلد

نشرت:

محدث:

3 دقائق للقراءة

نشرت الصورة في الأصل في Bookshop.org.

أندرو كوكبرن ، غنائم الحرب: القوة والربح وآلة الحرب الأمريكية. فيرسو ، 2021

في هذا الكتاب ، يعرض كوكبورن الأعمال الداخلية للمجمع الصناعي العسكري (MIC). إن عبارة "آلة الحرب" في العنوان الفرعي مضللة ، لأن النشاط الرئيسي الذي توجه إليه هيئة التصنيع العسكري ليس الحرب بل كسب المال. حتى الجنرالات والأدميرالات لا يهتمون بشن الحرب إلا كوسيلة لزيادة ميزانياتهم. لذا فإن النقاد الذين يتهمون البنتاغون بعدم وجود استراتيجية يعتبرون غير منصفين. قد لا يكون لها استراتيجية عسكرية ، لكن لديها استراتيجية مالية ، وهي: لا تقطع تدفق الأموال ؛ أضف إليها

وهذا يعني أن مفهوم سباق التسلح ، مع استجابة كل جانب للتهديدات بإجراءات تشكل تهديدات جديدة في حلقة لا تنتهي أبدًا ، هو أيضًا مفهوم مضلل. لا يوجد سباق تسلح لأن التهديدات خيالية والإجراءات غير مجدية. 

تتألف هيئة التصنيع العسكري من ثلاثة أنواع من الجهات الفاعلة: البيروقراطيون العسكريون (الضباط رفيعو المستوى) ، وشركات تصنيع الأسلحة ، وأعضاء الكونغرس.

ينقسم البيروقراطيون العسكريون إلى فصائل تتنافس على الهيبة ومخصصات الميزانية. أهم الفصائل هي تلك المناظرة للقوات المسلحة - الجيش ، والبحرية ، والقوات الجوية ، والآن القوة الفضائية. فكلما زادت الأموال في الميزانية ، زادت الوظائف رفيعة المستوى وتحسنت فرص الترقية.

التكلفة الزائدة

لا تواجه شركات الأسلحة منافسة حقيقية في السوق. يحصلون على عقود من خلال إقامة علاقات جيدة مع البيروقراطيين العسكريين ، الذين يحصلون في المقابل على عمل بأجر مرتفع مع الشركات بعد تقاعدهم. تشجع مدفوعات الشركات على أساس "التكلفة الإضافية" الشركات على تعظيم الأرباح من خلال تعظيم التكاليف ، والتي تتجاوز دائمًا التقديرات الأولية إلى حد كبير. هذا حافز لتطوير أنظمة معقدة للغاية. يتم إنفاق مبالغ ضخمة على المشاريع المعروفة بأنها غير مجدية من حيث المبدأ ، مثل الصواريخ "فوق الصوتية". 

تحث الشركات أعضاء الكونجرس على التصويت لصالح الميزانيات العسكرية الفلكية - هذا العام أكثر من 768 مليار دولار - من خلال ضمان حصول كل دائرة في الكونغرس على حصة من الإنتاج العسكري والتوظيف. يشارك جميع أعضاء الكونغرس في مثل هذه "السياسات المتعثرة" - ومن بينهم بيرني ساندرز. بل إنهم يصرون على الاستمرار في تمويل إنتاج الأسلحة التي لم يعد للقوات المسلحة أي استخدام لها. 

يفضح كوكبورن المصالح الاقتصادية الكامنة وراء القرارات التي يبدو أنها تتعلق بـ "الأمن القومي" أو الجغرافيا السياسية. وبالتالي ، كانت القوة الدافعة وراء توسع الناتو باتجاه الشرق هي "الضرورة الملحة [بعد نهاية الحرب الباردة] لفتح أسواق جديدة لشركات الأسلحة الأمريكية". 

قصف الأهداف الصحيحة

دراسة حالة مثيرة للاهتمام تتعلق باختيار القاذفة للدعم الجوي للعمليات الأرضية. الضباط من المستوى الأدنى ، الذين يهتمون أكثر بكفاءة القتال أكثر من رؤسائهم ، يفضلون طائرة A-10 Warthog ، وهي طائرة رخيصة نسبيًا تطير على ارتفاع منخفض وببطء كافٍ لطاقمها لتحديد الأهداف بصريًا ، مما يضمن قصفها لقوات العدو بدلاً من المدنيين أو القوات الصديقة. ومع ذلك ، فإن "الازدهار المؤسسي" لسلاح الجو الأمريكي يعتمد على قاذفات بعيدة المدى باهظة الثمن تطير عالياً وسريعًا ، وعلى الرغم من الإلكترونيات الفاخرة ، غالبًا ما تقصف الأهداف الخاطئة. سعى كبار قادة القوات الجوية منذ فترة طويلة للتخلص من Warthog ، على الرغم من أن جهودهم لم تنجح تمامًا بفضل الضغط المضاد من قبل المدافعين عنها.   

مثال آخر على التكنولوجيا العالية غير المجدية هو 100 مليون دولار أنفقتها شركة لوكهيد على طائرات EC-130H مع رادار اختراق الأرض. وجدت دراسة أجرتها المخابرات العسكرية أن هذا البرنامج "ليس له تأثير يمكن اكتشافه" على محاولات تحديد مواقع القنابل التي دفنها المتمردون تحت الأرض في العراق. في الوقت نفسه ، تم إهمال توفير المعدات الأساسية للقوات الأمريكية على الأرض: `` دخلت العائلات الأمريكية في الديون لشراء سترات مدرعة وجوارب وأحذية ونظارات للرؤية الليلية '' لأبنائهم وبناتهم الذين يقاتلون في العراق. وأصر الجيش على تزويد الجنود بخوذات من مقاول مفضل تؤدي في الواقع إلى تفاقم آثار انفجار القنبلة.  

سرقة أحذية العدو

لقد اندهشت عندما علمت أن نصف جميع الخسائر الأمريكية خلال الشتاء الأول من الحرب الكورية كانت بسبب قضمة الصقيع. بدون أحذية مناسبة خاصة بالطقس البارد ، لجأت القوات الأمريكية إلى مداهمة خنادق العدو لسرقة أحذية العدو المبطنة الدافئة. 

لا يتمتع منتجو الأحذية والجوارب بنفوذ مصنعي الأسلحة!  

نحن اشتراكيون. لا نريد خوض الحروب. ومع ذلك ، من الصعب الحصول على عزاء من عدم كفاءة القوات المسلحة كآلة قتالية. بعد كل شيء ، لا يزال لديهم أكثر من قدرة مفرطة كافية لتدمير العالم على أي حال. من سيكون موجودًا ليشتكي من أنهم لم يفعلوا ذلك بكفاءة كما ينبغي؟ والإهدار الهائل للجهود البشرية والموارد المادية هو نفسه في كلتا الحالتين ، ناهيك عن المساهمة الضخمة التي يقدمونها للتلوث والتدفئة العالمية. 

الوسوم (تاج): المجمع الصناعي العسكري

صورة المؤلف
المعلن / كاتب التعليق
نشأت في موسويل هيل ، شمال لندن ، وانضممت إلى الحزب الاشتراكي لبريطانيا العظمى في سن السادسة عشرة. بعد دراسة الرياضيات والإحصاء ، عملت كخبير إحصائي حكومي في السبعينيات قبل الالتحاق بالدراسات السوفيتية في جامعة برمنغهام. كنت ناشطا في حركة نزع السلاح النووي. في عام 16 ، انتقلت مع عائلتي إلى بروفيدنس ، رود آيلاند ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية لشغل منصب في كلية جامعة براون ، حيث قمت بتدريس العلاقات الدولية. بعد ترك براون في عام 1970 ، عملت بشكل أساسي كمترجم من اللغة الروسية. عدت للانضمام إلى الحركة الاشتراكية العالمية عام 1989 وأعمل حاليًا الأمين العام للحزب الاشتراكي العالمي للولايات المتحدة. لقد كتبت كتابين: المأزق النووي: الاستكشافات في الأيديولوجيا السوفيتية (روتليدج ، 2000) والفاشية الروسية: التقاليد والميول والحركات (ME Sharpe ، 2005) والمزيد من المقالات والأوراق وفصول الكتب التي يهمني تذكرها.

مقالات ذات صلة

إخطار
ضيف
يستخدم هذا الموقع المكون الإضافي للتحقق من المستخدم لتقليل البريد العشوائي. انظر كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.
0 التعليقات
التقيمات المضمنة
عرض جميع التعليقات

Home » Blog » How the Military-industrial Complex Works

Economics, Politics, Technology, War

How the Military-industrial Complex Works

Views: 793 Andrew Cockburn, The Spoils of War: Power, Profit and the American War Machine. Verso, 2021 In this book Cockburn lays bare the inner workings of the …

by Stephen Shenfield

Published:

Updated:

3 min read

Photo originally published on Bookshop.org.

Andrew Cockburn, The Spoils of War: Power, Profit and the American War Machine. Verso, 2021

In this book Cockburn lays bare the inner workings of the military-industrial complex (MIC). The expression ‘war machine’ in the subtitle is misleading, as the main activity to which the MIC is geared is not warfare but money-making. Even the generals and admirals are not interested in waging war except as a means of enhancing their budgets. So critics who accuse the Pentagon of having no strategy are being unfair. It may have no military strategy, but it has a financial one, namely: Don’t interrupt the money flow; add to it

And this means that the concept of an arms race, with each side responding to threats with measures that pose new threats in a never-ending cycle, is also misleading. There is no arms race, because the threats are imaginary and the measures do not work. 

The MIC comprises three types of actors: military bureaucrats (high-ranking officers), arms-manufacturing corporations, and congresspeople.

The military bureaucrats are divided into factions that compete for prestige and budgetary allocations. The most important factions are those corresponding to the armed services – the army, the navy, the air force, and now the space force. The more money in the budget, the more high-level posts and the better the prospects of promotion.

Cost-plus

The arms corporations face no real market competition. They get contracts by cultivating good relations with military bureaucrats, who in exchange obtain highly paid employment with the corporations after they retire. Payment of corporations on a ‘cost-plus’ basis encourages them to maximize profits by maximizing costs, which always vastly exceed initial estimates. This is an incentive to develop systems of great complexity. Huge sums are spent on projects known to be infeasible in principle, such as ‘hypersonic’ missiles. 

The corporations induce congresspeople to vote for astronomical military budgets – this year’s is over $768 billion – by ensuring that each congressional district gets a share of military production and employment. All congresspeople take part in such ‘pork-barrel politics’ — and that includes Bernie Sanders. They even insist on continuing to fund the production of weapons for which the armed forces no longer have any use. 

Cockburn exposes the economic interests underlying decisions that appear to be about ‘national security’ or geopolitics. Thus, the driving force behind the eastward expansion of NATO was ‘the urgent necessity [after the end of the Cold War] to open new markets for US arms companies.’ 

Bombing the Right Targets

An interesting case study concerns the choice of bomber for air support of ground operations. Lower-level officers, who care more about warfighting efficacy than their superiors do, favor the A-10 Warthog, a relatively cheap plane that flies low and slowly enough for its crew to identify targets visually, ensuring that it bombs enemy troops rather than civilians or friendly forces. However, the ‘institutional prosperity’ of the US Air Force is based on much more expensive long-range bombers that fly high and fast and – despite fancy electronics – often bomb the wrong targets. The top commanders of the air force have long striven to get rid of the Warthog, although thanks to counter-lobbying by its defenders their efforts have not been wholly successful.   

Another example of useless high tech is the $100 million spent by Lockheed on EC-130H aircraft with ground-penetrating radar. A study by military intelligence found that this program had ‘no detectable effect’ on attempts to locate bombs buried underground by insurgents in Iraq. At the same time, provision of basic equipment to US troops on the ground was neglected: ‘American families went into debt to buy armored vests, socks, boots, and night-vision goggles’ for their sons and daughters fighting in Iraq. And the army insisted on furnishing soldiers with helmets from a favored contractor that actually exacerbate the effects of bomb blast.  

Stealing the Enemy’s Boots

I was astonished to learn that half of all American casualties during the first winter of the Korean War were due to frostbite. Without decent cold-weather footwear of their own, US troops resorted to raiding enemy trenches to steal the enemy’s warm padded boots. 

Producers of boots and socks just don’t have the clout of arms manufacturers!  

We are socialists. We don’t want to fight wars. Nevertheless, it is hard to derive consolation from the inefficiency of the armed forces as a warfighting machine. After all, they still have more than enough overkill capacity to destroy the world anyway. Who will be around to complain that they didn’t do it as efficiently as they could have? And the enormous waste of human effort and material resources is the same in either case, not to mention the hefty contribution they make to pollution and global heating. 

Tags: military-industrial complex

Photo of author
I grew up in Muswell Hill, north London, and joined the Socialist Party of Great Britain at age 16. After studying mathematics and statistics, I worked as a government statistician in the 1970s before entering Soviet Studies at the University of Birmingham. I was active in the nuclear disarmament movement. In 1989 I moved with my family to Providence, Rhode Island, USA to take up a position on the faculty of Brown University, where I taught International Relations. After leaving Brown in 2000, I worked mainly as a translator from Russian. I rejoined the World Socialist Movement about 2005 and am currently general secretary of the World Socialist Party of the United States. I have written two books: The Nuclear Predicament: Explorations in Soviet Ideology (Routledge, 1987) and Russian Fascism: Traditions, Tendencies, Movements (M.E. Sharpe, 2001) and more articles, papers, and book chapters that I care to recall.

Related Articles

Capitalism, Class, Economics, Environment, Politics

The Cause of and Cure for Climate Disruption

Views: 638 There is a political dispute going on about climate change, global heating, or global climate disruption. The dispute, unfortunately, is not simply about what to ...

7 min read

History, Politics

The Electoral College: Historical Background

Views: 490 Surprisingly, few people in the U.S. realize that when they cast their vote on Election Day for President of the United States, their individual part ...

4 min read

Archives, Capitalism, Economics, Socialism

A TV Program: The Sanity of Socialism

Views: 566 ARCHIVE: This is the script of a television program produced by members of our party and aired in Boston in 1975, reproduced from the journal ...

8 min read

Politics, War

Ukraine — The War Escalates

Views: 946 In recent days the war in Ukraine has escalated. The situation now is more alarming than ever.  Hostilities are no longer confined to Ukrainian territory. ...

3 min read
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
This site uses User Verification plugin to reduce spam. See how your comment data is processed.
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share to...