الرئيسية » المدونة » جونستاون: باسم الاشتراكية

مناخ, البيئة, تاريخنا, اشتراكية, للعمل

جونستاون: باسم الاشتراكية

المشاهدات: 632 كانت جونستاون مستوطنة زراعية في الغابات المطيرة في غيانا ، بالقرب من الساحل الشمالي لأمريكا الجنوبية ، أنشأها في عام 1974 أعضاء ...

by ستيفن شينفيلد

نشرت:

محدث:

2 دقائق للقراءة

معهد جونستاون، الإسناد ، عبر ويكيميديا ​​كومنز

كانت جونستاون مستوطنة زراعية في غابة غيانا المطيرة ، بالقرب من الساحل الشمالي لأمريكا الجنوبية ، أسسها في عام 1974 أعضاء كنيسة تعرف باسم معبد الشعوب ، والتي تأسست عام 1954 في إنديانابوليس على يد واعظ يُدعى جيم جونز. في جونستاون ، في نوفمبر 1978 ، تم تسميم أو قتل أكثر من 900 شخص - وهو عمل تمجده جونز باعتباره `` انتحارًا ثوريًا '' ولكنه أقرب إلى المذبحة. 

على الرغم من أن معبد الشعوب كان يحتوي على زخارف الكنيسة المسيحية ، إلا أن العقيدة التي بشر بها جونز جمعت بين المعتقدات الدينية المسيحية والشرقية والأفكار السياسية المأخوذة من الحزب الشيوعي الأمريكي. ادعى جونز أنه تناسخ لكل من يسوع المسيح ولينين. أبطال جونز الآخرين هم ستالين وماو وكيم إيل سونغ. كل ما فعله جونز منذ أواخر سن المراهقة وما بعده تم باسم الاشتراكية والشيوعية.

حافظ الناجون من معبد الشعوب على التواصل وقاموا ببناء مجتمع للتذكر على الإنترنت جزئيًا. لقد كتب الكثير عن تجربة غامضة وحاولوا فهمها. يلعب معهد جونستاون دورًا رئيسيًا في هذا المجتمع ، برعاية قسم الدراسات الدينية في جامعة ولاية سان دييغو. يحتفظ المعهد بموقع غني بالمعلومات وينشر تقريرًا سنويًا. كلاهما مفتوح للمساهمات من أي شخص لديه ما يقوله حول Peoples Temple ، بغض النظر عن وجهة النظر السياسية أو الدينية أو الفلسفية.

كانت هذه فرصة لتزويد أعضاء هذا المجتمع بمنظور جديد حول معبد الشعوب. لقد قدمت أربع مقالات إلى معهد جونستاون. تم سردها مع روابط على الصفحة المخصصة لي في موقع المعهد وأيضًا في آخر إصدار سنوي تقرير جونستاون.

مقالتي الأولى ، جيم جونز: محاولة لتحليل نفسي سياسي، يركز على جونز كفرد. أقترح أن الستالينية ، كنظام هيمنة يفترض أنه يهدف إلى إنهاء الهيمنة ، كانت مناسبة تمامًا للاحتياجات النفسية المتجذرة في الإهمال الشديد الذي عانى منه في طفولته المبكرة. 

المقال التالي ، معبد الشعوب والاشتراكية، يشكك في الافتراضات السائدة بأن جونز كان اشتراكيا وأن معبد الشعوب حركة اشتراكية. لقد قمت بتحليل Jonestown كنوع غريب من المجتمع الطبقي واستنتجت أن الاشتراكية الحقيقية مستحيلة بدون الديمقراطية. 

يجادل المقال الثالث بأنه حتى داخل هيكل سلطوي للغاية قد يكون هناك وجود جزر الحكم الذاتي.

المقال الأخير - هل كان جونستاون مستدامًا؟ - يجادل بأن المشروع بأكمله لإنشاء مثل هذه المستوطنة الزراعية الكبيرة والدائمة في وسط الغابة المطيرة قد يكون غير مستدام من الناحية البيئية. 

صورة المؤلف
المعلن / كاتب التعليق
نشأت في موسويل هيل ، شمال لندن ، وانضممت إلى الحزب الاشتراكي لبريطانيا العظمى في سن السادسة عشرة. بعد دراسة الرياضيات والإحصاء ، عملت كخبير إحصائي حكومي في السبعينيات قبل الالتحاق بالدراسات السوفيتية في جامعة برمنغهام. كنت ناشطا في حركة نزع السلاح النووي. في عام 16 ، انتقلت مع عائلتي إلى بروفيدنس ، رود آيلاند ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية لشغل منصب في كلية جامعة براون ، حيث قمت بتدريس العلاقات الدولية. بعد ترك براون في عام 1970 ، عملت بشكل أساسي كمترجم من اللغة الروسية. عدت للانضمام إلى الحركة الاشتراكية العالمية عام 1989 وأعمل حاليًا الأمين العام للحزب الاشتراكي العالمي للولايات المتحدة. لقد كتبت كتابين: المأزق النووي: الاستكشافات في الأيديولوجيا السوفيتية (روتليدج ، 2000) والفاشية الروسية: التقاليد والميول والحركات (ME Sharpe ، 2005) والمزيد من المقالات والأوراق وفصول الكتب التي يهمني تذكرها.

مقالات ذات صلة

إخطار
ضيف
يستخدم هذا الموقع المكون الإضافي للتحقق من المستخدم لتقليل البريد العشوائي. انظر كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.
0 التعليقات
التقيمات المضمنة
عرض جميع التعليقات

Home » Blog » Jonestown: In the Name of Socialism

Climate, Environment, History, Socialism, Work

Jonestown: In the Name of Socialism

Views: 631 Jonestown was an agricultural settlement in the rainforest of Guyana, near the northern coast of South America, set up in 1974 by members of a …

by Stephen Shenfield

Published:

Updated:

2 min read

Jonestown Institute, Attribution, via Wikimedia Commons

Jonestown was an agricultural settlement in the rainforest of Guyana, near the northern coast of South America, set up in 1974 by members of a church known as Peoples Temple, which had been founded in 1954 in Indianapolis by a preacher named Jim Jones. It was in Jonestown, in November 1978, that over 900 people were poisoned or otherwise killed  – an act that Jones glorified as ‘revolutionary suicide’ but more closely resembled a massacre. 

Although Peoples Temple had the trappings of a Christian church, the doctrine preached by Jones combined Christian and Oriental religious beliefs with political ideas taken from the American Communist Party. Jones claimed to be a reincarnation of both Jesus Christ and Lenin. Other heroes of Jones were Stalin, Mao, and Kim Il-Sung. Everything that Jones did from his late teens onward was done in the name of socialism and communism.

Survivors of Peoples Temple have kept in touch and built a partly online community of remembrance. Many have written about and tried to make sense of an ambiguous experience. A key role in this community is played by the Jonestown Institute, sponsored by the Department of Religious Studies at San Diego State University. The institute maintains a richly informative website and publishes an annual report. Both are open to contributions from anyone with something to say about Peoples Temple, regardless of political, religious, or philosophical viewpoint.

Here was an opportunity to offer members of this community a new perspective on Peoples Temple. I submitted four articles to the Jonestown Institute. They are listed with links on the page assigned to me on the institute’s website and also in the latest annual Jonestown Report.

My first article, Jim Jones: an attempt at psychic-political analysis, focuses on Jones as an individual. I suggest that Stalinism, as a system of domination supposedly aimed at ending domination, was well suited to psychic needs rooted in the severe neglect he suffered in early childhood. 

The next article, Peoples Temple and socialism, questions the widely held assumptions that Jones was a socialist and Peoples Temple a socialist movement. I analyze Jonestown as a peculiar kind of class society and conclude that genuine socialism is impossible without democracy. 

The third article argues that even within a highly authoritarian structure there may exist islands of autonomy.

The last article — Was Jonestown sustainable? — argues that the whole project of establishing such a large and permanent agricultural settlement in the middle of the rainforest may have been ecologically unsustainable. 

Photo of author
I grew up in Muswell Hill, north London, and joined the Socialist Party of Great Britain at age 16. After studying mathematics and statistics, I worked as a government statistician in the 1970s before entering Soviet Studies at the University of Birmingham. I was active in the nuclear disarmament movement. In 1989 I moved with my family to Providence, Rhode Island, USA to take up a position on the faculty of Brown University, where I taught International Relations. After leaving Brown in 2000, I worked mainly as a translator from Russian. I rejoined the World Socialist Movement about 2005 and am currently general secretary of the World Socialist Party of the United States. I have written two books: The Nuclear Predicament: Explorations in Soviet Ideology (Routledge, 1987) and Russian Fascism: Traditions, Tendencies, Movements (M.E. Sharpe, 2001) and more articles, papers, and book chapters that I care to recall.

Related Articles

Climate, Environment, International relations

The Heat To Come

Is climate change approaching a turning point? Heatwaves in the US, Europe and South Asia impel us to ask where is the threshold to human survival, when will that threshold be crossed, and what will happen to the victims.

5 min read

History, International relations, police, Politics

A Cold War Enigma: Who Began East Europe’s Stalinist Purges?

From 1948—1954, a paranoid Stalin oversaw massive purges in Eastern Europe's Soviet-bloc countries. But did the CIA exploit his paranoia to 'weaken communism'?

4 min read

Capitalism, Class, Climate, Crime, healthcare, Housing, News

Food for Thought From Canada

Views: 588 From the Monthly Report of the Socialist Party of Canada, January 2023 There is now a robot that can pick fruit. The camera tells the ...

5 min read

Class, History

Frederick Douglass: The Scottish Connection

Alan Johnstone describes the connection of the great anti-slavery writer and orator Frederick Douglass with Scotland.

4 min read
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
This site uses User Verification plugin to reduce spam. See how your comment data is processed.
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share to...