الصفحة الرئيسية » المدونة » العبودية في الولايات المتحدة اليوم: عملية البصل المزهر

رأسمالية, الأخبار, للعمل

العبودية في الولايات المتحدة اليوم: عملية البصل المزهر

المشاهدات: 1,185،XNUMX هل تعتقد أن العبودية قد ألغيت في الولايات المتحدة؟ في وقت سابق من هذا العام ، أكمل المدعون الفيدراليون عملية البصل المزهر. اكتشفوا مؤامرة من أجل ...

by ستيفن شينفيلد

نشرت:

محدث:

1 دقائق للقراءة

هل تعتقد أن العبودية قد ألغيت في الولايات المتحدة؟

في وقت سابق من هذا العام ، أكمل المدعون الفيدراليون عملية البصل المزهر. اكتشفوا مؤامرة لجلب عمال من المكسيك وأمريكا الوسطى لحصد البصل في معسكر للعمل القسري في جنوب جورجيا. بعد اختطافهم أو إغرائهم بوعود كاذبة بأجور عالية ، دخل حوالي 500 من هؤلاء العمال إلى الولايات المتحدة على مدى عدة سنوات بموجب برنامج H-2A ، الذي يمكّن أرباب العمل الزراعيين من استيراد العمال الأجانب على أساس مؤقت أو موسمي. 

طُلب من [العمال] حفر البصل بأيديهم ، ودفع 20 سنتًا عن كل دلو يتم حصاده ، وتهديدهم بالبنادق والعنف لإبقائهم في الطابور. تم احتجاز العمال في أماكن ضيقة وغير صحية ومعسكرات عمل مسيجة مع القليل من الطعام أو بدون طعام ... وبدون مياه صالحة للشرب. يُتهم المتآمرون باغتصاب وخطف وتهديد أو محاولة قتل بعض العمال أو عائلاتهم ، وفي كثير من الحالات قاموا ببيع أو مقايضة العمال لمتآمرين آخرين. مات ما لا يقل عن عاملين نتيجة لظروف العمل.

وزارة العدل الأمريكية

وتقدر أرباح استغلال العمال بـ 200 مليون دولار. القسمة على 500 تعطي 400,000 دولار لكل عامل. لا يعني ذلك أنهم سيحصلون على هذا النوع من المال.

من السمات البارزة للقضية أن العديد من المتآمرين كانوا مسؤولين في وزارة العمل بجورجيا مسؤولين عن الإشراف على برنامج H-2A ، أو أقارب مقربين لهؤلاء المسؤولين. هل بحثوا عن عمل هناك لهذا الغرض بالذات؟ الغطاء المثالي ، يجب أن تعترف. الثعلب يحرس حظيرة الدجاج!  

ولذا يطالب النشطاء بالتقريب اتحادي الإشراف على البرنامج. إذا كنت ترغب في التوقيع على عريضة لدعم هذا الطلب ، إليك الرابط. لكن فكر. حتى لو افترضنا أن الإشراف تم نقله إلى وكالة فيدرالية ، فما الذي يمنع المستعبدين المحتملين من رشوة مسؤوليها أو السعي وراء وظائف هناك؟ 

إن إصلاح الرأسمالية هو بمثابة مطاردة جامحة. أنت لا تصطاد الأوزة أبدًا! أو مثل محاولة وضع ثوب على شخص كبير جدًا بالنسبة له. تنفتح الدموع في مكان ما ، لكن عندما تخيطها ، تنفتح دمعة أخرى في مكان آخر. هذا هو السبب في أننا نبذل جهودنا ليس لمحاولة إصلاح الرأسمالية ولكن في التنظيم لإلغائها.     

الوسوم (تاج): برنامج H-2A, إصلاح الرأسمالية, عبودية

صورة المؤلف
المعلن / كاتب التعليق
نشأت في موسويل هيل ، شمال لندن ، وانضممت إلى الحزب الاشتراكي لبريطانيا العظمى في سن السادسة عشرة. بعد دراسة الرياضيات والإحصاء ، عملت كخبير إحصائي حكومي في السبعينيات قبل الالتحاق بالدراسات السوفيتية في جامعة برمنغهام. كنت ناشطا في حركة نزع السلاح النووي. في عام 16 ، انتقلت مع عائلتي إلى بروفيدنس ، رود آيلاند ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية لشغل منصب في كلية جامعة براون ، حيث قمت بتدريس العلاقات الدولية. بعد ترك براون في عام 1970 ، عملت بشكل أساسي كمترجم من اللغة الروسية. عدت للانضمام إلى الحركة الاشتراكية العالمية عام 1989 وأعمل حاليًا الأمين العام للحزب الاشتراكي العالمي للولايات المتحدة. لقد كتبت كتابين: المأزق النووي: الاستكشافات في الأيديولوجيا السوفيتية (روتليدج ، 2000) والفاشية الروسية: التقاليد والميول والحركات (ME Sharpe ، 2005) والمزيد من المقالات والأوراق وفصول الكتب التي يهمني تذكرها.

مقالات ذات صلة

رأسمالية, الاقتصاد - Economics, الرعاية الصحية, تكنولوجيا

أسرى كوكاكولا

لماذا يشرب سكان سان كريستوبال في ولاية تشياباس بالمكسيك الكثير من كوكاكولا وماذا يفعل بهم.

4 دقائق للقراءة

الأخبار, للعمل

احتجاجات في جميع أنحاء الصين

المشاهدات: 362 مقطع فيديو انتشر في الصين الشهر الماضي أظهر عمال FoxConn يفرون من المصانع في مدينة تشنغتشو ، عاصمة مقاطعة خنان ، هربًا من عمليات الإغلاق التي أمر بها بسبب COVID-19. FoxConn هو ...

3 دقائق للقراءة

اشتراكية, للعمل

جمعية البطالة الشاملة

المشاهدات: 959 في عام 1848 أرسلت الحكومة البروسية طبيبًا شابًا يدعى رودولف كارل فيرشو إلى سيليزيا العليا (الآن في بولندا) للتحقيق في وباء التيفوس. له ...

2 دقائق للقراءة

رأسمالية, الرعاية الصحية, السكن, سياسة, حرب

أخبار من كندا - يوليو 2022

يناقش رفاقنا في الحزب الاشتراكي الكندي تكاليف المعيشة ونقص أطباء الأسرة والذئاب ونتائج الانتخابات وملاجئ النساء والبنادق والإجهاض والإيجارات.

4 دقائق للقراءة
إخطار
ضيف
يستخدم هذا الموقع المكون الإضافي للتحقق من المستخدم لتقليل البريد العشوائي. انظر كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.
0 التعليقات
التقيمات المضمنة
عرض جميع التعليقات
مشاركة على ...

Home » Blog » Slavery in the US Today: Operation Blooming Onion

Capitalism, News, Work

Slavery in the US Today: Operation Blooming Onion

Views: 1,186 You thought that slavery had been abolished in the United States? Earlier this year federal prosecutors completed Operation Blooming Onion. They uncovered a conspiracy to …

by Stephen Shenfield

Published:

Updated:

1 min read

You thought that slavery had been abolished in the United States?

Earlier this year federal prosecutors completed Operation Blooming Onion. They uncovered a conspiracy to bring in workers from Mexico and Central America to harvest onions at a forced labor camp in South Georgia. Kidnapped or lured by false promises of high wages, some 500 of these workers entered the US over several years under the H-2A program, which enables agricultural employers to import foreign workers on a temporary or seasonal basis. 

[Workers were] required to dig onions with their bare hands, paid 20 cents for each bucket harvested, and threatened with guns and violence to keep them in line. The workers were held in cramped, unsanitary quarters and fenced work camps with little or no food … and without safe water. The conspirators are accused of raping, kidnapping and threatening or attempting to kill some of the workers or their families, and in many cases sold or traded the workers to other conspirators. At least two workers died as a result of workplace conditions.

US Department of Justice

The profit made by exploiting the workers is estimated at $200 million. Dividing by 500 gives $400,000 for each worker. Not that they will ever receive that sort of money.

A remarkable feature of the case is that several conspirators were officials at the Georgia Department of Labor responsible for oversight of the H-2A program, or close relatives of such officials. Did they seek employment there for this very purpose? The perfect cover, you must admit. The fox guarding the chicken coop!  

And so activists are demanding closer federal oversight of the program. If you want to sign a petition in support of this demand, here’s the link. But think. Even supposing that oversight is transferred to a federal agency, what is to prevent would-be enslavers from bribing its officials or themselves seeking positions there? 

Reforming capitalism is like a wild goose chase. You never quite catch the goose! Or like trying to fit a garment onto someone who is a bit too big for it. A tear opens up in one place, but when you sew it up another tear opens up somewhere else. That is why we put our efforts not into trying to reform capitalism but into organizing to abolish it.     

Tags: H-2A program, reforming capitalism, Slavery

Photo of author
I grew up in Muswell Hill, north London, and joined the Socialist Party of Great Britain at age 16. After studying mathematics and statistics, I worked as a government statistician in the 1970s before entering Soviet Studies at the University of Birmingham. I was active in the nuclear disarmament movement. In 1989 I moved with my family to Providence, Rhode Island, USA to take up a position on the faculty of Brown University, where I taught International Relations. After leaving Brown in 2000, I worked mainly as a translator from Russian. I rejoined the World Socialist Movement about 2005 and am currently general secretary of the World Socialist Party of the United States. I have written two books: The Nuclear Predicament: Explorations in Soviet Ideology (Routledge, 1987) and Russian Fascism: Traditions, Tendencies, Movements (M.E. Sharpe, 2001) and more articles, papers, and book chapters that I care to recall.

Related Articles

Capitalism, Class, Politics

USA: Illusions of Democracy

Views: 661 The United States of America has been under one-party rule since its birth at the drafting of the Constitution. This document was drawn up by ...

6 min read

Book Review, Capitalism, Economics, Politics, Technology, Work

Automation: An Open Letter to Andrew Yang

Views: 862 Dear Andrew Yang I followed with interest your campaign as a candidate in the Democratic Party’s 2020 presidential primaries. You are widely known for advocating ...

5 min read

Class, Environment, Housing, Work

Hanging Out Our Washing To Dry

Do you hang out your washing to dry in the sun and wind? Why do so few people in the US do this nowadays? Are there places where it is illegal?

3 min read

Capitalism, Class, News, police, Politics

“When the Looting Starts, the Shooting Starts”

Who and what do the police protect? Three articles on the Black Lives Matter movement from the July 2020 issue of The Socialist Standard

8 min read
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
This site uses User Verification plugin to reduce spam. See how your comment data is processed.
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share to...