Startseite » Blog » Sklaverei in den USA heute: Operation Blooming Onion

Kapitalismus, News, Arbeiten

Sklaverei in den USA heute: Operation Blooming Onion

Aufrufe: 1,269 Sie dachten, dass die Sklaverei in den Vereinigten Staaten abgeschafft wurde? Anfang des Jahres schloss die Bundesanwaltschaft die Operation Blooming Onion ab. Sie deckten eine Verschwörung auf …

by Stefan Shenfield

Veröffentlicht am:

Aktualisiert:

1 min gelesen

Sie dachten, die Sklaverei sei in den Vereinigten Staaten abgeschafft worden?

Anfang dieses Jahres schlossen die Bundesanwälte die Operation „Blühende Zwiebel“ ab. Sie deckten eine Verschwörung auf, Arbeiter aus Mexiko und Mittelamerika zur Zwiebelernte in ein Zwangsarbeitslager in Südgeorgien zu bringen. Entführt oder durch falsche Versprechungen hoher Löhne angelockt, kamen etwa 500 dieser Arbeiter über mehrere Jahre im Rahmen des H-2A-Programms in die USA, das es landwirtschaftlichen Arbeitgebern ermöglicht, ausländische Arbeiter vorübergehend oder saisonal zu importieren. 

[Die Arbeiter mussten] Zwiebeln mit bloßen Händen graben, zahlten 20 Cent für jeden geernteten Eimer und wurden mit Waffen und Gewalt bedroht, um sie bei der Stange zu halten. Die Arbeiter wurden in beengten, unhygienischen Unterkünften und eingezäunten Arbeitslagern mit wenig oder gar keiner Nahrung ... und ohne sauberes Wasser festgehalten. Die Verschwörer werden beschuldigt, einige der Arbeiter oder ihre Familien vergewaltigt, entführt und bedroht oder versucht zu töten, und in vielen Fällen haben sie die Arbeiter an andere Verschwörer verkauft oder eingetauscht. Mindestens zwei Arbeiter starben infolge von Arbeitsbedingungen.

US Department of Justice

Der durch die Ausbeutung der Arbeiter erzielte Gewinn wird auf 200 Millionen Dollar geschätzt. Teilen durch 500 ergibt 400,000 $ für jeden Arbeiter. Nicht, dass sie jemals so viel Geld erhalten werden.

Ein bemerkenswertes Merkmal des Falls ist, dass mehrere Verschwörer Beamte des Arbeitsministeriums von Georgia waren, die für die Aufsicht über das H-2A-Programm verantwortlich waren, oder nahe Verwandte solcher Beamter waren. Haben sie sich genau zu diesem Zweck dort eine Anstellung gesucht? Das perfekte Cover, müssen Sie zugeben. Der Fuchs bewacht den Hühnerstall!  

Und so fordern Aktivisten eine Annäherung Bundes- Aufsicht über das Programm. Wenn Sie eine Petition zur Unterstützung dieser Forderung unterzeichnen möchten, Hier ist der Link. Aber denken Sie nach. Selbst angenommen, dass die Aufsicht auf eine Bundesbehörde übertragen wird, was hindert potenzielle Versklaver daran, ihre Beamten zu bestechen oder selbst dort eine Stelle zu suchen? 

Den Kapitalismus zu reformieren ist wie eine wilde Gänsejagd. Sie fangen die Gans nie ganz! Oder wie der Versuch, jemandem ein Kleidungsstück anzuziehen, das dafür etwas zu groß ist. An einer Stelle öffnet sich ein Riss, aber wenn du ihn vernähst, öffnet sich woanders ein weiterer Riss. Deshalb richten wir unsere Anstrengungen nicht darauf, den Kapitalismus zu reformieren, sondern uns zu organisieren, um ihn abzuschaffen.     

Stichworte: H-2A-Programm, Kapitalismus reformieren, Sklaverei

Foto des Autors
Ich bin in Muswell Hill im Norden Londons aufgewachsen und trat mit 16 Jahren der Socialist Party of Great Britain bei. Nach meinem Studium der Mathematik und Statistik arbeitete ich in den 1970er Jahren als Regierungsstatistiker, bevor ich an der Universität Birmingham Sowjetwissenschaften studierte. Ich war in der nuklearen Abrüstungsbewegung aktiv. 1989 zog ich mit meiner Familie nach Providence, Rhode Island, USA, um eine Stelle an der Fakultät der Brown University anzunehmen, wo ich Internationale Beziehungen lehrte. Nachdem ich Brown im Jahr 2000 verlassen hatte, arbeitete ich hauptsächlich als Übersetzerin aus dem Russischen. Ich trat der World Socialist Movement etwa 2005 wieder bei und bin derzeit Generalsekretär der World Socialist Party of the United States. Ich habe zwei Bücher geschrieben: The Nuclear Predicament: Explorations in Soviet Ideology (Routledge, 1987) und Russian Fascism: Traditions, Tendencies, Movements (ME Sharpe, 2001) und weitere Artikel, Abhandlungen und Buchkapitel, an die ich mich erinnern möchte.

Ähnliche Artikel

Abonnieren
Benachrichtigung von
Gast
Diese Website verwendet das Plugin zur Benutzerüberprüfung, um Spam zu reduzieren. Sehen Sie, wie Ihre Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.
0 Ihre Nachricht
Inline-Feedbacks
Alle Kommentare anzeigen

Home » Blog » Slavery in the US Today: Operation Blooming Onion

Capitalism, News, Work

Slavery in the US Today: Operation Blooming Onion

Views: 1,186 You thought that slavery had been abolished in the United States? Earlier this year federal prosecutors completed Operation Blooming Onion. They uncovered a conspiracy to …

by Stephen Shenfield

Published:

Updated:

1 min read

You thought that slavery had been abolished in the United States?

Earlier this year federal prosecutors completed Operation Blooming Onion. They uncovered a conspiracy to bring in workers from Mexico and Central America to harvest onions at a forced labor camp in South Georgia. Kidnapped or lured by false promises of high wages, some 500 of these workers entered the US over several years under the H-2A program, which enables agricultural employers to import foreign workers on a temporary or seasonal basis. 

[Workers were] required to dig onions with their bare hands, paid 20 cents for each bucket harvested, and threatened with guns and violence to keep them in line. The workers were held in cramped, unsanitary quarters and fenced work camps with little or no food … and without safe water. The conspirators are accused of raping, kidnapping and threatening or attempting to kill some of the workers or their families, and in many cases sold or traded the workers to other conspirators. At least two workers died as a result of workplace conditions.

US Department of Justice

The profit made by exploiting the workers is estimated at $200 million. Dividing by 500 gives $400,000 for each worker. Not that they will ever receive that sort of money.

A remarkable feature of the case is that several conspirators were officials at the Georgia Department of Labor responsible for oversight of the H-2A program, or close relatives of such officials. Did they seek employment there for this very purpose? The perfect cover, you must admit. The fox guarding the chicken coop!  

And so activists are demanding closer federal oversight of the program. If you want to sign a petition in support of this demand, here’s the link. But think. Even supposing that oversight is transferred to a federal agency, what is to prevent would-be enslavers from bribing its officials or themselves seeking positions there? 

Reforming capitalism is like a wild goose chase. You never quite catch the goose! Or like trying to fit a garment onto someone who is a bit too big for it. A tear opens up in one place, but when you sew it up another tear opens up somewhere else. That is why we put our efforts not into trying to reform capitalism but into organizing to abolish it.     

Tags: H-2A program, reforming capitalism, Slavery

Photo of author
I grew up in Muswell Hill, north London, and joined the Socialist Party of Great Britain at age 16. After studying mathematics and statistics, I worked as a government statistician in the 1970s before entering Soviet Studies at the University of Birmingham. I was active in the nuclear disarmament movement. In 1989 I moved with my family to Providence, Rhode Island, USA to take up a position on the faculty of Brown University, where I taught International Relations. After leaving Brown in 2000, I worked mainly as a translator from Russian. I rejoined the World Socialist Movement about 2005 and am currently general secretary of the World Socialist Party of the United States. I have written two books: The Nuclear Predicament: Explorations in Soviet Ideology (Routledge, 1987) and Russian Fascism: Traditions, Tendencies, Movements (M.E. Sharpe, 2001) and more articles, papers, and book chapters that I care to recall.

Related Articles

Capitalism, Class, Politics

USA: Illusions of Democracy

Views: 661 The United States of America has been under one-party rule since its birth at the drafting of the Constitution. This document was drawn up by ...

6 min read

Book Review, Capitalism, Economics, Politics, Technology, Work

Automation: An Open Letter to Andrew Yang

Views: 862 Dear Andrew Yang I followed with interest your campaign as a candidate in the Democratic Party’s 2020 presidential primaries. You are widely known for advocating ...

5 min read

Class, Environment, Housing, Work

Hanging Out Our Washing To Dry

Do you hang out your washing to dry in the sun and wind? Why do so few people in the US do this nowadays? Are there places where it is illegal?

3 min read

Capitalism, Class, News, police, Politics

“When the Looting Starts, the Shooting Starts”

Who and what do the police protect? Three articles on the Black Lives Matter movement from the July 2020 issue of The Socialist Standard

8 min read
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
This site uses User Verification plugin to reduce spam. See how your comment data is processed.
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share to...