الرئيسية » المدونة » احتجاجات في جميع أنحاء الصين

الأخبار, للعمل

احتجاجات في جميع أنحاء الصين

المشاهدات: 367 مقطع فيديو انتشر في الصين الشهر الماضي أظهر عمال FoxConn يفرون من المصانع في مدينة تشنغتشو ، عاصمة مقاطعة خنان ، هربًا من عمليات الإغلاق التي أمر بها بسبب COVID-19. FoxConn هو ...

by الحزب الاشتراكي العالمي الأمريكي

نشرت:

محدث:

3 دقائق للقراءة

مقاطع الفيديو التي انتشر الفيروس في الصين الشهر الماضي أظهر عمال FoxConn الفرار من المصانع في تشنغتشو ، عاصمة مقاطعة خنان ، هربًا من عمليات الإغلاق التي تم فرضها بسبب COVID-19. FoxConn هي شركة مملوكة لتايوان تلعب دورًا كبيرًا في إنتاج iPhone العالمي وهي واحدة من عمالقة التكنولوجيا في تايوان. مؤسس شركة FoxConn ، تيري جو ، هو أحد أغنى الرجال في تايوان ، وقد قام بغزوات في السياسة في السنوات الأخيرة ، مثل السعي للحصول على ترشيح حزب الكومينتانغ للرئاسة في عام 2020. 

في ضوء سياسات الصين المستمرة لـ COVID-zero ، كان من المقرر عزل عمال المصانع المهاجرين في مجمع Zhengzhou الضخم التابع لشركة FoxConn الشهر الماضي بعد سفرهم إلى منازلهم بالحافلة. ولكن لتجنب الحجر الصحي ، لجأ بعض العمال بدلاً من ذلك إلى المنزل سيرًا على الأقدام والرحلات عبر الحقول والطرق سيرًا على الأقدام. 

من جانبها ، ذكرت FoxConn أنها لن تمنع العمال الذين يريدون مغادرة مصانعهم من القيام بذلك. حثت الحكومات المحلية العمال على إبلاغهم بأنهم سيغادرون ، لكن عمال فوكسكون يخشون أن يتم تعقبهم من قبل قوات أمن الدولة. أنشأ بعض السكان المحليين محطات للمساعدة في سفر عمال FoxConn. 

لدى FoxConn 200,000 عامل في مجمع Zhengzhou ، وهو المسؤول عن ما يقرب من نصف إنتاج iPhone العالمي. ليس من الواضح عدد العمال المصابين بـ COVID-19 والذين سيتم عزلهم. يبلغ عدد سكان مدينة تشنغتشو ستة ملايين نسمة. شهدت مدن أخرى في وسط الصين ، بما في ذلك ووهان ، موجات COVID في نوفمبر ، وكذلك مقاطعتا هاينان وشينجيانغ. 

لكن منذ موجة هروب عمال فوكسكون من وظائفهم ، تصاعد الموقف في وقت سابق من هذا الأسبوع ، حيث اشتبك العمال مع قوات الأمن الحكومية. كان هذا رداً على اللوائح الجديدة التي تطالب العمال بالبقاء في مناصبهم حتى مارس 2023 ، والعمل خلال عطلة رأس السنة القمرية الجديدة ، وإلا فقدوا مكافآتهم.

يوضح الوضع الذي يواجه عمال FoxConn الوضع غير المستقر للعمال المهاجرين خلال COVID-19. نظرًا لالتزام الصين بـ COVID-19 ، فقد تم حبس العمال المهاجرين في مهاجع مزدحمة ، في ظروف غير صحية ، كرد فعل على مجموعات من حالات COVID-XNUMX. 

ربما يشير هذا بشكل أوسع إلى كيفية معاملة العمال المهاجرين كمصادر عمل يمكن التخلص منها من قبل رأس المال. عومل العمال المهاجرون إلى حد كبير بنفس الطريقة في تايوان بعد ظهور مجموعات في مصانع الإلكترونيات في مياولي ، مع بقاء العمال المهاجرين محصورين في مهاجعهم حتى بعد انحسار التجمعات. كان هناك عنصر عنصري واضح في هذه المعاملة ، حيث أن العمال المهاجرين في مصانع الإلكترونيات التايوانية كانوا في الغالب من دول جنوب شرق آسيا. ومع ذلك ، في أي من السياقين ، يتم التعامل مع العمال المهاجرين على أنهم "مجموعات سكانية منخفضة المستوى" يمكن التخلص منها عندما يتبين أن توفير الرعاية لهم غير مريح. 

تصدرت معاملة العمال المهاجرين في الصين عناوين الصحف الدولية عدة مرات في السنوات الأخيرة ، مثل عمليات الإخلاء الجماعي للعمال المهاجرين في نوفمبر 2017. وقد حدث هذا بعد حريق أدى إلى مقتل 17 شخصًا ، وتم استخدامه لاحقًا كذريعة لإجلاء العمال المهاجرين في الوقت الذي كانت فيه الحكومة الصينية تهدف إلى فرض قيود على السكان في بكين. 

في حالة FoxConn ، تدخلت الحكومة الصينية لإفادة عملاق التكنولوجيا التايواني من خلال تسهيل التوظيف الجماعي للعمال المهاجرين. هذه حالة تواطؤ بين الدولة ورأس المال على حساب العمال. في الواقع ، تسعى FoxConn ببساطة إلى تعظيم أرباحها على حساب العمال ، سواء كانوا من تايوان أو الصينيين على حد سواء. 

بعد أن طلبت الشرطة من الناس ألا يهتفوا "لا مزيد من عمليات الإغلاق" ، بدأوا في ترديد "المزيد من عمليات الإغلاق" و "أريد إجراء اختبارات COVID" pic.twitter.com/R8Y29TRFwa

- فيفيان وانغ (@ vwang3) 27 نوفمبر، 2022

منذ اشتباكات تشنغتشو في وقت سابق من هذا الأسبوع ، تصاعد الموقف أكثر بعد اندلاع حريق في مبنى سكني في أورومتشي ، عاصمة مقاطعة شينجيانغ. كان الناس غاضبين بشكل خاص لأن رجال الإطفاء لم يتمكنوا من دخول المبنى ، الذي تم حبس سكانه في الداخل كجزء من إجراءات الحجر الصحي التقييدية. 

في أعقاب حريق أورومتشي ، امتد الغضب الشعبي إلى مظاهرات في المراكز الحضرية الصينية الرئيسية. اندلعت الاحتجاجات في بكين وشانغهاي وتشنغدو وأورومتشي وسيشوان وأماكن أخرى. اعتاد العديد من المتظاهرين حمل أوراق بيضاء ، معتبرين أن الحكومة الصينية تعاقب الأشخاص الذين يرفعون لافتات عليها شعارات. 

في شنغهاي ، كان شارع أورومتشي موقعًا رئيسيًا للاحتجاج. ردت سلطات المدينة بإزالة لافتات الشوارع التي تظهر اسم الشارع ، مما أثار الكثير من السخرية على الإنترنت. سرعان ما أصبحت صور الاحتجاجات أيقونية ، بما في ذلك صورة رجل وامرأة منفردان في مواجهة الشرطة المتجمعة. 

كانت كل من احتجاجات تشنغتشو وحريق أورومتشي عجل الأحداث للاحتجاجات الحالية. يتم توجيه الغضب ضد القيود المرتبطة بسياسات COVID-zero ، حيث يدعو المتظاهرون إلى إنهاء الاختبار والإغلاق. لا سيما في ضوء حقيقة أن أورومتشي هي عاصمة شينجيانغ ، يُظهر الحريق أيضًا كيف تأثرت الفئات المحرومة ، مثل الأويغور والعمال المهاجرين ، بشكل غير متناسب بسياسات COVID-zero.

امتدت بعض الاحتجاجات إلى مطالب بالديمقراطية وحرية التعبير ودعوات شي جين بينغ للاستقالة. من المحتمل أن تتداخل مطالب متعددة داخل الاحتجاج الحالي ، بما في ذلك المزيد من المعارضة المباشرة للحزب الشيوعي الصيني وتحديداً إنهاء COVID-Zero. يُعتقد أن الاحتجاجات هي أكبر مظاهرات في الصين منذ احتجاجات ووهان عام 2011 وربما منذ ميدان تيانانمين في عام 1989. 

قد يشير عدم إخماد الاحتجاجات بعد إلى أن قيادة الحزب الشيوعي الصيني تقوم بتقييم خياراتها. وقد تم تنظيم مسيرات تضامن عفوية في تايوان وبلدان أخرى.  

في هذه الحركة في ليلة الشتاء الباردة ، يهتف سكان شنغهاي في شارع وسط المدينة: "لا نريد ديكتاتورية ، نريد الديمقراطية." بعد 3 سنوات من المعاناة من الانغلاق والسيطرة على المجتمع ، يغضب الناس.  pic.twitter.com/AZRFh6bbiE

- فيفيان وو (vivianwubeijing) 26 نوفمبر، 2022

في حين قد يتم الضغط على الحكومة الصينية للتخفيف من سياسات COVID-zero ، فإن هذا سيؤدي بالضرورة إلى زيادة في الحالات ، والتي تكون الصين أقل استعدادًا للتعامل معها لأن السلطات لا يبدو أنها قضت الوقت الذي تم شراؤه بالالتزام بـ COVID-Zero. لبناء القدرات الطبية استعدادًا للانتقال النهائي بعيدًا عن COVID-Zero ولأن اللقاحات المنتجة في الصين أقل فعالية. كانت المدن الصينية الكبرى تشهد بالفعل ارتفاعًا في عدد الحالات قبل اندلاع الاحتجاجات. علاوة على ذلك ، حاولت الحكومة الصينية تجنب استيراد لقاحات غربية أكثر فعالية - وهو مظهر من مظاهر "قومية اللقاح".

ربما كان يأمل القيادة الصينية في الحفاظ على COVID-XNUMX إلى أجل غير مسمى ، لأنه قد يناسب أغراضها زيادة المسافة بين الصين وبقية العالم. سيكون لموجة الصدمة الاقتصادية التي تنتج عن الارتفاع النهائي في الحالات تداعيات كبيرة وستوجه ضربة أخرى للشرعية السياسية لقيادة الحزب الشيوعي الصيني الحالية ، والتي راهنت كثيرًا على COVID-Zero. 

وبالتالي ، مهما كانت نتيجة الاحتجاجات ، فمن المتوقع استمرار الاضطرابات.

مصدر. بريان هيو ، الاحتجاجات تجري عبر الصين ، نيو بلوم: وجهات نظر راديكالية في تايوان وآسيا والمحيط الهادئ ، 11/28/22. 

صورة المؤلف
المعلن / كاتب التعليق
الدفاع عن الاشتراكية ولا شيء غير ذلك.

مقالات ذات صلة

إخطار
ضيف
يستخدم هذا الموقع المكون الإضافي للتحقق من المستخدم لتقليل البريد العشوائي. انظر كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.
0 التعليقات
التقيمات المضمنة
عرض جميع التعليقات

More
About

About

A worldwide system of society based on common ownership and democratic control of the means for producing and distributing wealth by and in the interest of the whole human community.
About

Recent Posts

Newsletter

Protests Across China

By World Socialist Party US November 28, 2022 No Comments 6 Min Read

Videos that went viral in China last month showed FoxConn workers fleeing factories in Zhengzhou, capital of Henan Province, to escape lockdowns ordered due to COVID-19. FoxConn is a Taiwanese-owned company that plays a large role in global iPhone production and is one of Taiwan’s major tech giants. FoxConn founder Terry Gou is one of Taiwan’s richest men and has made forays into politics in recent years, such as seeking the Kuomintang’s presidential nomination in 2020. 

In light of China’s continuing COVID-zero policies, migrant factory workers at FoxConn’s massive Zhengzhou complex were to be quarantined last month after traveling home by bus. But to avoid quarantines, some workers have instead taken to walking home, trekking across fields and roads on foot. 

For its part, FoxConn stated that it will not prevent workers who want to leave their factories from doing so. Local governments have urged workers to inform them that they are departing, but FoxConn workers feared being tracked down by state security forces. Some local residents set up stations to help traveling FoxConn workers. 

FoxConn has 200,000 workers at the Zhengzhou complex, which is responsible for close to half of global iPhone production. It is not clear how many workers have COVID-19 and are to be quarantined. Zhengzhou has a population of six million. Other cities in central China, including Wuhan, have seen COVID waves in November, as have Hainan and Xinjiang Provinces. 

Since the wave of FoxConn workers fleeing their jobs, however, the situation further escalated earlier this week, with workers clashing with state security forces.  This was in reaction to new regulations requiring workers to stay in their positions until March 2023, working through the Lunar New Year holiday, or else forfeit their bonuses.

The situation facing FoxConn workers illustrates the precarious situation of migrant workers during COVID-19. Given China’s adherence to COVID-zero, migrant workers have been locked away in crowded dormitories, in unsanitary conditions, as a response to clusters of COVID-19 cases. 

This perhaps more broadly points to how migrant workers are treated as disposable sources of labor by capital. Migrant workers were treated much the same way in Taiwan after clusters appeared at electronics factories in Miaoli, with migrant workers remaining confined to their dormitories even after the clusters subsided. There was a clear racial component to this treatment, seeing as migrant workers in Taiwanese electronics factories were mostly from southeast Asian countries. Nevertheless, in either context migrant workers are treated as disposable “low-end populations” to be thrown away when providing for their care proves inconvenient. 

The treatment of migrant workers in China has made international headlines several times in recent years, such as the mass evictions of migrant workers in November 2017. This took place after a fire that killed 17, subsequently used as a pretext for migrant worker evictions at a time when the Chinese government was aiming to institute population controls in Beijing. 

In the case of FoxConn, the Chinese government has intervened to benefit the Taiwanese tech giant by facilitating its mass recruitment of migrant workers. This is a case of collusion between the state and capital at the expense of workers. Indeed, FoxConn simply seeks to maximize its profits at the expense of workers, Taiwanese or Chinese alike. 

After police told people not to chant “no more lockdowns” they began chanting “more lockdowns” and “I want to do COVID tests” pic.twitter.com/R8Y29TRFwa

— Vivian Wang (@vwang3) November 27, 2022

Since the Zhengzhou clashes earlier this week, the situation escalated further following a fire killed residents in an apartment block in Urumqi, capital of Xinjiang Province. People were especially angry that firefighters were unable to enter the building, whose residents were locked inside as part of restrictive quarantine measures. 

In the wake of the Urumqi fire, public outrage has spilled out into demonstrations in major Chinese urban centers. Protests have taken place Beijing, Shanghai, Chengdu, Urumqi, Szechuan, and other places. Many demonstrators have taken to holding blank sheets of paper, seeing as the Chinese government has punished people holding signs with slogans. 

In Shanghai Urumqi Street was a major site of protest. City authorities responded by removing street signs showing the name of the street, evoking much mockery online. Images of the protests have quickly become iconic, including an image of a lone man and woman confronting amassed police. 

Both the Zhengzhou protests and the Urumqi blaze were precipitating events for the current protests. Outrage is directed against the restrictions associated with COVID-zero policies, with protesters calling for an end to testing and lockdowns. Particularly in light of the fact that Urumqi is the capital of Xinjiang, the fire also shows how underprivileged groups, such as Uyghurs and migrant workers, have been disproportionately impacted by COVID-zero policies.

Some protests have spilled over into demands for democracy and freedom of speech and calls for Xi Jinping to resign. It is probable that multiple demands overlap within the present protest, including more direct opposition to the CCP and specifically an end to COVID-zero. The protests are thought to be the largest demonstrations in China since the 2011 Wuhan protests and perhaps since Tiananmen Square in 1989. 

That the protests have not yet been put down may indicate that the CCP leadership is evaluating its options. Spontaneous solidarity rallies have been held in Taiwan and other countries.  

At this movement in the chilly winter night, Shanghai people are chanting on the downtown street: “We don’t want dictatorship, we want democracy.” After 3 years of suffering from lockdown & control of society, people are angry.  pic.twitter.com/AZRFh6bbiE

— Vivian Wu (@vivianwubeijing) November 26, 2022

While the Chinese government may be pushed to relax COVID-zero policies, this will necessarily lead to an uptick in cases, which China is less equipped to deal with because the authorities do not appear to have spent the time bought by adhering to COVID-zero to build up medical capacity in preparation for an eventual transition away from COVID-zero and because Chinese-produced vaccines are less effective. Major Chinese cities were already seeing an uptick of cases before the protests broke out. Moreover, the Chinese government has tried to avoid importing more effective Western vaccines – a manifestation of “vaccine nationalism.”

It may have been the hope of the Chinese leadership to maintain COVID-zero indefinitely, since it may fit their purposes to put increasing distance between China and the rest of the world. The economic shockwave that results from the eventual uptick in cases will have large ramifications and deal a further blow to the political legitimacy of the present CCP leadership, which has staked so much on COVID-zero. 

Thus, whatever the outcome of the protests, unrest can be expected to continue.

Source. Brian Hioe, Protests Take Place Across China, New Bloom: Radical Perspectives on Taiwan and the Asia Pacific, 11/28/22. 

Written By

Standing for socialism and nothing but.

View All Articles
T
Previous Post

Thanksgiving Myths

F
Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Refund Policy | Sitemap